Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: New Pool- TFP Test Kit Results- Help

1. Back To Top    #1

New Pool- TFP Test Kit Results- Help

Our pool is finally complete! Still have about 2-3 weeks of paver, firepit and fence install. Will post pics soon.

Here are the results using TFP Test Kit. This is my first time testing, so hopefully these are correct.

PH- 7.8
    FC- .5
    CC- .5
    TA- 80
    CH- 250?
    CYA- 0, but I used a test strip from pool builder and it showed 30 range?
    Salt- 2800, but Prologic display said 3000

The pool calculator states I should add 62 oz of 6% bleach to get to target of 2 FC level, add 16 oz of muratic acid to bring down PH. Thoughts?

What about CYA? Should I add the recommended levels of 277 oz of liquid or 107 oz by weight? Or should I wait until FC is at approprate level?

What kind of CYA and where should I get it? Not sure if the PB put any in.

Please advise- thanks!
    18 x 36 vinyl IG- 3.5 to 5 ft.- 20,000 gallaons, TF-100 Test Kit, Hayward TriStar Dual Speed 1.5 HP pump, Hayward C3025 SwimClear Cartridge Filter, Hayward SWG, Hayward Heat Pump 21104T, 2 inch PVC, 3 returns, 2 skimmers, 2 Low Suction (no main drain), Dedicated Suction for The Pool Cleaner 4x, Prologic 8 with Aquapod, 2 Colorlogic LED lights, (2) 16 inch sheer descents

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: New Pool- TFP Test Kit Results- Help

What type of chlorine did you add to the water? IF you've only added bleach, then your cya should be zero, you have to add it, or it comes from using pucks. If your not sure if the PB added any, is there any way you can ask? If not, I would go have it tested at the pool store, just to get a ballpark, it probably won't be accurate anyway. Have you ordered a good test kit? I love the TF-100 test kit. It performs every test you need. It is worth every penny and my reagents lasted a season and a half before I had to order some refills. I just by cya from lowe's or walmart or wherever I am at the time.