Nitrate problem

Jul 29, 2011
Maple Glen Pa
I'm new to TFP and have had a pool for 3 years. It's a concrete pool approx 27,000 gallons. We've been having trouble keeping chlorine in our pool this year. A couple weeks back we were told our Cyanuric Acid was off the charts and we had to dump 40% of our water. I'm still having issues holding chlorine and todays test revealed a nitrate problem.... :grrrr:

I need help!!!!! The pool store says we need to dump the pool water and do an acid wash and start over! Do I really need to do this? I do have a lawn service that treats my lawn and I didn't have problems the last 2 years.

Here are my results from today:

Free Chl - 0.0
Total Chl - 0.5
Combined - 0.5
ph - 7.5
hardness - 253
alkanlinty -111
Cya - 86

I sure hope you guys can help... :-D

Bob

High CYA is a problem, but nitrates are not a problem. With high CYA levels you need to shock to very high FC levels, and keep FC high for a while, to kill algae. With CYA around 86, the FC level for shocking is in the low 30s. See the description of how to shock your pool in Pool School.

Unless you have a SWG, I suggest bringing the CYA level down further by replacing some more water. 86 is just manageable, but it is still very annoying to deal with when you have algae.

Jason beat me, but I still want to post ;)

I see no reason to acid wash, why were you told that?

Your CYA is still too high unless you have a salt water pool.

I am guessing you need to go through the shock process. Take a look at Pool School (the button in the top right), learn about the overnight chlorine loss test and the shock process.

At the very least you need to put some bleach in the pool right away. Plug your numbers into http://poolcalculator.com to determine what you need to add. I would at least go dump a gallon in there right now.