Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Help with My Super Pump

1. Back To Top    #1

Help with My Super Pump

Newbie here, I just had my pool installed and today the electrician came and wired everything for me. I did all of the pvc piping. When I started my super pump, it seems to run hot and I get air bubbles coming out of the return line, everything I read seems to indicate it this is caused by air leaking in the suction lines, but it seems like I have good tight joints, any thoughts? My pump is about 30 feet away from the pool.
    24' x 52" round Radiant Metric GT, Fully Buried.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Help with My Super Pump

Is it consistent when you shut off either the skimmer(s) or drain?

Scott
    Owner of - PoolGuyNJ LLC
    Expert Pool and Spa Repairs, Renovations, and Augmentation. Helping people decide what is the right gear for meeting their needs. Expectations Set, Expectations Met, No Surprises.

3. Back To Top    #3

it is a pretty simple design, it just has a skimmer and a return. I did not shut off the skimmer,afraid that i would have no water flow through the pump. Although the water level is about 3/4 of the way up the skimmer so I don't think I am getting air in there.

4. Back To Top    #4

What size is the pump? What size is pipe? Are the drain plugs snug? Did you use any type of thread sealant when connecting the threaded fittings?

Scott
    Owner of - PoolGuyNJ LLC
    Expert Pool and Spa Repairs, Renovations, and Augmentation. Helping people decide what is the right gear for meeting their needs. Expectations Set, Expectations Met, No Surprises.

5. Back To Top    #5

Check all the normal places (pump basket lid, basket drain plug(s), etc.), then you may have to run water over the fittings and piping to find the leak.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump