Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Do I need to add algaecide or not?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Katy, TX
    Posts
    94

    Do I need to add algaecide or not?

    I have owned my pool for 2.5 years now without any major problems...frequent brushing, addition of MA are basically my most demanding chores. Yet, I have noticed algae growing on the inside of the dirt bag of my robot cleaner. I took it out and treated with clorox. I was reading somewhere that clorox only "bleaches" the algae, not really suppressing its growth. If algae is growing in the cleaner, I can assume it is elsewhere in the pooll, correct?

    Kind comments appreciated..
    Inground with 7x7 spa (spillover)
    20k gal plaster (sunstone)
    pentair 3/4 hp (filter), 1 hp (spa), 1/2 hp (features)
    cartridge filter
    SWCG IC-40
    Polaris Platinum (with booster)

  2. Back To Top    #2
    frogabog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Portland, Oregon
    Posts
    1,578

    Re: Do I need to add algaecide or not?

    I'm confused... How do you chlorinate your pool? Do you read the forum much?

    I ask because bleach is what is recommended to kill algae in pools and it's what is recommended to every pool owner who passes through these forums.

    Bleach kills more than just algae and while while it does make things whiter (i.e. laundry), it's purpose is to destroy bacteria and it does an excellent job at it. The only reason bleach wouldn't kill algae is if one didn't apply enough bleach and the algae grows back.
    Where kids swim in 54 degree water, turn blue, and giggle happily cuz they got a POOL!
    Year 3 BBB -15' x 48" Intex Metal Frame - Was using (2) 1000gph Intex cartridge filters (see Full time pumping Intex). 2012, converted to 1600gph and sand filter+SWG = Sand filter love affair!
    Don't waste time and energy looking for a better value on test kits, the TF100 is the best deal around. I did the looking and spent the extra money, but you don't have to make the same mistake. Just go here: TFTestkits. I use Pool Calculator for min/max, and shocking chlorine levels.

  3. Back To Top    #3
    Mod Squad zea3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    9,198

    Re: Do I need to add algaecide or not?

    Tell us how your water looks and post a current set of test results and we will be able to advise you better. Algae grows when chlorine levels are too low to be effective and in areas of poor circulation. Bleach is very effective for killing algae, that is why most pool sanitizers are based on some form of bleach (sodium hypochlorite).
    TFP Moderator
    Helpful links: TF Test Kits,TFP Pool School, PoolMath
    Vogue 21' round AG, Pentair 1 hp 2 speed pump, 36 sq ft DE filter, Hayward S180T 150# sand filter, Houston, Texas
    Love TFP? Become a
    TFP Supporter!

  4. Back To Top    #4
    dmanb2b's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    3,728

    Re: Do I need to add algaecide or not?

    Welcome to TFP

    What they said:

    What does your water look like? Cloudy? Green? Crystal? Murky?
    FC = x
    CC = x
    pH = x
    TA = x
    CYA = x

    Your FC is likely too low vs CYA level.
    24'x52" AGP (13,500 Gallons), Intex SWG, (2)Solar Bear 4x20 panels, Hayward S220T Filter, 1/2hp Pentair Superflo

    Pool School, TFTestKits, Pool Calculator

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    South Point, Ohio
    Posts
    32

    Re: Do I need to add algaecide or not?

    was reading somewhere that clorox only "bleaches" the algae, not really suppressing its growth.
    I think this statement applies to cleaning mold with bleach.
    24' Round Above Ground
    15,000 Gallons
    Hayward Pro Series 100 Lbs Sand Filter
    Hayward Power Flo LX 1hp Pump
    8 gallon Liquidator 3/8
    BBB Method

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Katy, TX
    Posts
    94

    Re: Do I need to add algaecide or not?

    I do read the forum regularly and follow BBB method as cose as I can. My latest numbers are:

    FC: 4.5
    CC: 0.0
    TC: 4.5
    PH: 7.5
    TA:50
    Salt: 3600
    CH: >450
    CYA 50-60 range

    Water is crystal clear, running pumps 8 hrs (07:00-11:00 Am + 04:00-08:00 PM), clenaer run 1 hour AM +1 hour PM...

    Reason I asked is that I read there is Chlorine resistant algae (???) and I wondered if I had one of those growing in my cleaner bag...
    Inground with 7x7 spa (spillover)
    20k gal plaster (sunstone)
    pentair 3/4 hp (filter), 1 hp (spa), 1/2 hp (features)
    cartridge filter
    SWCG IC-40
    Polaris Platinum (with booster)

  7. Back To Top    #7
    dmanb2b's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    3,728

    Re: Do I need to add algaecide or not?

    Hmm...maybe it's not algae. Could it just be accumlated pollen, dust, etc. Either way, the bag itsel should be rinsed daily. Also, if you have a main drain, is it on? Sometimes there could be deadspots where FC is low due to poor circulation? Either way the OFCLT will confirm if you have algae growing in the pool
    24'x52" AGP (13,500 Gallons), Intex SWG, (2)Solar Bear 4x20 panels, Hayward S220T Filter, 1/2hp Pentair Superflo

    Pool School, TFTestKits, Pool Calculator

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Katy, TX
    Posts
    94

    Re: Do I need to add algaecide or not?

    OFCLT is a new one to me...can you explain?..In the mean time I am boosting chlorination at 100% for 24 hours, just in case...
    Inground with 7x7 spa (spillover)
    20k gal plaster (sunstone)
    pentair 3/4 hp (filter), 1 hp (spa), 1/2 hp (features)
    cartridge filter
    SWCG IC-40
    Polaris Platinum (with booster)

  9. Back To Top    #9
    dmanb2b's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    3,728

    Re: Do I need to add algaecide or not?

    FC should be bumped using liquid chlorine, there is no need to put starin on your SWG.

    Here is a link to the Overnight FC Loss Test in Pool School

    pool-school/overnight_fc_test
    24'x52" AGP (13,500 Gallons), Intex SWG, (2)Solar Bear 4x20 panels, Hayward S220T Filter, 1/2hp Pentair Superflo

    Pool School, TFTestKits, Pool Calculator

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Katy, TX
    Posts
    94

    Re: Do I need to add algaecide or not?

    Thanks all for your comments !
    Inground with 7x7 spa (spillover)
    20k gal plaster (sunstone)
    pentair 3/4 hp (filter), 1 hp (spa), 1/2 hp (features)
    cartridge filter
    SWCG IC-40
    Polaris Platinum (with booster)

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Re: Do I need to add algaecide or not?

    As long as your FC is never allowed to go below 7.5 % of the cyanuric acid level then the chlorine will kill algae faster than it can grow.

    With a cyanuric acid level of 60, you should never allow the FC to go below 4.5. This means that you have to add enough chlorine to account for loss before you test again.

    If you expect to lose 3.5 ppm FC before your next test, then you should raise the FC to about 8 or 9 ppm to ensure that the level is always above the minimum.

  12. Back To Top    #12

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV
    Posts
    37

    Re: Do I need to add algaecide or not?

    Quote Originally Posted by serge
    I was reading somewhere that clorox only "bleaches" the algae, not really suppressing its growth.
    You know who tells you that? Guys who want to sell you copper-based algicide, which is good if you want to stain your pool and turn your hair green. Not so good if you want a trouble-free pool.

    Oddly enough, I've even seen a site hawking copper algaecide that claims algae is a fungus (it isn't, it's in an entirely different kingdom from plants or fungi), that algae is invisible until you kill it and then it turns green, and that new algae is introduced by rainwater. Each statement is demonstrably false, but they'll make the statement to try and scare you away from chlorine and into expensive unnecessary products.
    33k in-ground plaster pool and spa / Goldline T-15 SWG w/ Aqualogic controller / RS2000 Hayward pump / Pentair Clean & Clear Plus 420 sq. ft. cartridge filter

  13. Back To Top    #13
    frogabog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Portland, Oregon
    Posts
    1,578

    Re: Do I need to add algaecide or not?

    I suppose that's why all the green pools out there turn themselves clear. I wonder at which point of green is the algae dead? Light green or dark murky green?

    Pure ridiculosity. Wow...
    Where kids swim in 54 degree water, turn blue, and giggle happily cuz they got a POOL!
    Year 3 BBB -15' x 48" Intex Metal Frame - Was using (2) 1000gph Intex cartridge filters (see Full time pumping Intex). 2012, converted to 1600gph and sand filter+SWG = Sand filter love affair!
    Don't waste time and energy looking for a better value on test kits, the TF100 is the best deal around. I did the looking and spent the extra money, but you don't have to make the same mistake. Just go here: TFTestkits. I use Pool Calculator for min/max, and shocking chlorine levels.

  14. Back To Top    #14

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    San Rafael, CA USA
    Posts
    12,082

    Re: Do I need to add algaecide or not?

    As described in this scientific peer-reviewed paper, bleach kills bacteria by oxidizing proteins to cause them to unfold and then aggregate. Without essential proteins, the bacteria is killed, unable not only to reproduce but to continue to live (metabolize, etc.). The same sort of process is likely to occur with algae as well, but it requires higher chlorine levels than for most bacteria possibly because algae cell walls are more difficult to penetrate. It is true that bleach oxidizes chlorophyll causing it to no longer color the algae green, but it most certainly does not stop there and continues to oxidize and interfere with many nitrogenous compounds, not just proteins, but DNA itself.

    Note that the EPA Registration for Clorox Bleach shows under uses that it is an "algaecide" which means it kills algae, not just removes it green color.
    16,000 gallon outdoor in-ground 16'x32' plaster pool; Pentair Intelliflo VF pump; Pentair IntelliTouch i9+3s control system; Jandy CL-340 square foot cartridge filter
    12 Fafco solar panels; Purex Triton PowerMax 250 natural gas heater (200,000 BTU/hr output); automatic electric pool safety cover; 4-wheel pressure-side "The Pool Cleaner"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •