Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Aqua Rite - What gauge wire?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Cedar Island NC (Outer Banks)
    Posts
    84

    Aqua Rite - What gauge wire?

    The manual for my Aqua Rite with T-Cell 15 does not specify a wire gauge (other than 8AWG for bonding). Anyone know what is required? I doubt that it is a heavy load, but I could be wrong.

    Also it doesn't show which color wire goes where on the circuit board...I did move the jumpers to the 120V position and see where they go...just not which color where. Maybe it doesn't matter?

    Thanks in advance! Steve
    Cedar Island NC (Southern Outer Banks)
    Splash Super Pool (40x20)
    29,000 gal; AG; Sand Filter; 1.5HP pump. Use the cosmic Taylor Test Kit
    New Aquarite SWG w/T-15 cell; New Dolphin Supreme M4 Robot cleaner

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,331

    Re: Aqua Rite - What gauge wire?

    It depends on the distance the wire has to run from the source (breaker box), the amps and the voltage it's going to run at.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Cedar Island NC (Outer Banks)
    Posts
    84

    Re: Aqua Rite - What gauge wire?

    3 feet; 120V. I don't know how many amps the Aquarite and T-cell 15 draw....at least it isn't in the manual or on the device.
    Cedar Island NC (Southern Outer Banks)
    Splash Super Pool (40x20)
    29,000 gal; AG; Sand Filter; 1.5HP pump. Use the cosmic Taylor Test Kit
    New Aquarite SWG w/T-15 cell; New Dolphin Supreme M4 Robot cleaner

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Cedar Island NC (Outer Banks)
    Posts
    84

    Re: Aqua Rite - What gauge wire?

    I just got a number for Hayward Tech Support but they are closed. I'll post here what they tell me for folks later that might have the same question.
    Cedar Island NC (Southern Outer Banks)
    Splash Super Pool (40x20)
    29,000 gal; AG; Sand Filter; 1.5HP pump. Use the cosmic Taylor Test Kit
    New Aquarite SWG w/T-15 cell; New Dolphin Supreme M4 Robot cleaner

  5. Back To Top    #5
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,331

    Re: Aqua Rite - What gauge wire?

    So, you're looking for a wire to go from the unit to a plugin, timer, receptacle? If so 14 awg is big enough.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Cedar Island NC (Outer Banks)
    Posts
    84

    Re: Aqua Rite - What gauge wire?

    Exactly. I later found a sticker that says 2 amps so 14AWG should be plenty. Polarity remains a question so I'll ask Hayward in the AM. Thanks! Steve
    Cedar Island NC (Southern Outer Banks)
    Splash Super Pool (40x20)
    29,000 gal; AG; Sand Filter; 1.5HP pump. Use the cosmic Taylor Test Kit
    New Aquarite SWG w/T-15 cell; New Dolphin Supreme M4 Robot cleaner

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Ft Lauderdale, Florida
    Posts
    1,455

    Re: Aqua Rite - What gauge wire?

    Polarity should not matter. Make sure you ground it, and bond it.
    Sean Assam - Sean@teamhorner.com
    National Accounts and Commercial Products Manager
    AquaCal Heat Pumps www.aquacal.com
    AutoPilot Salt Chlorine Generators www.autopilot.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •