Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: HELP - Newbie

1. Back To Top    #1

HELP - Newbie

My pool will be 5 yrs old this Aug. I always relied on pool place till this summer. I have spent so much on chemicals only to have the FC AT 0 & green algae on the bottom of my pool. It was very green all winter, then I put in the chemicals the pool people said & I thought that would be it. But it's either keeping green or I won't see any green maybe a week & then it's back.

I am totally new at testing my water & trying to do this myself. But I have to do something different. I fell like I've been putting money through a shredder, & I can't afford that.

I used Aquacheck strips to test. I will get one of the test kits suggested as soon as I can. Right now it's raining here. My pool water is crystal clear but again there's green algae on the bottom of the pool & on the ladder.

One more question, why is it dangerous to swim if the FC is a 0?

Thanks in advance!!!! Appreciate the help!!!!
    16,800 gal AG-Vinyl
    Sand Filter
    Hayward SP 1580X15 Power-Flo LX Series 1-1/2 Hp
    Installed: August 2006
    TFT test kit TF-100

2. Back To Top    #2

In the Industry

Re: HELP - Newbie

Welcome to the forum

A pool with zero chlorine has no protection from bacteria that are easily transmitted. A pool with O chlorine is unsanitary and you CAN get sick from swimming in it.

I suggest you start by reading the ABC's of Pool Water Chemistry up in Pool School. That'll get you some basic knowledge and probably prompt you to ask some more questions.

I will tell you up front that it is almost impossible to maintain a pool the way we teach and not have a good test kit.
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

3. Back To Top    #3

Thanks for the welcome. I already read all the articles in getting started & pool chemistry, except water balance for SWG'S ( I didn't think I needed that one).