Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Quick question Re: pre-dissolving Cal-Hypo

1. Back To Top    #1

Quick question Re: pre-dissolving Cal-Hypo

How long does it take to dissolve Cal-Hypo in a 5 gallon bucket of water? I've never done it before. According to Pool Calculator I will be dissolving a little over 2lbs. Thanks in advance for your reply (ies)!!
    14,600g / 24ft. Round Above Ground with Solar Cover
    18" Hayward Pro Sand Filter
    1 HP Hayward Powerflo Matrix Pump running 10am - 8pm
    Full Sun (when we get sun ... LOL): Approx. 10am to 7pm
    Using the Trouble Free Method, and loving it!! Arrrrrrrr!!!!

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Quick question Re: pre-dissolving Cal-Hypo

I'd try swirling then dumping water off, repeat as needed. I don't predissolve, I dump in the shallow end and brush to the deep end.
    23,000 gallon in ground pool with rock waterfall and spillover spa, Aqualink control system, Polaris 380 cleaner, Purex Triton Clean&Clear Plus cartridge filter. Located in The Woodlands, Texas.

Pool owner since Nov 2008, Trouble Free since April 2009. Happy to help when I can.

3. Back To Top    #3

It dissolves fairly easily, and if there is anything left that didn't dissolve after you pour most of it into the pool, then just add some more water and it will dissolve.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

4. Back To Top    #4

Half pound per bucket, filled with very hot water. Stir until dissolved, approx 2 minutes from experience. Repeat 4 times.

5. Back To Top    #5

I have some cal-hypo that i bought before i bought into BBB method. And by "some" I meant 90 lbs

my calcium is low and my fill water is extremely soft so after careful calculation i concluded that i could use all of it of the course of two seasons.