Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: swg not working

  1. Back To Top    #1

    swg not working

    i have a swg installed 4-week ago and its not making any chlorine.. i was told because of my nitrate is to high (65 ppm) my swg will not work...i have a inground 16x36 3ft by 5.5 deep. about 22,000 gal of water. the place i purchase it said to drain 30in of water add it back, i did and the nitrate reading still was 65 ppm.. any help out there!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Richard320's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    San Dimas, CA (LA County)
    Posts
    18,768

    Re: swg not working

    Are nitrates replacing phosphates as the new bogeyman?

    How about a set of test results? I'd wonder if what's happening isn't that you have a small scale algae bloom and the SWG and the algae are stalemated. What do you get if to grab a sample straight from the return?
    16K freeform gunite with spa; Pentair 4000 DE filter; Century Whisperflow 1 HP; Pentair Minimax heater.
    Troublefree does not mean Maintenancefree. It's like brushing your teeth: You can spend a couple minutes a day and pennies a week or go to the dentist once a year and spend several thousand dollars.
    A pool is like a pet - you have to feed it every day, even the days you don't want to play with it!

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Re: swg not working

    Quote Originally Posted by Richard320
    Are nitrates replacing phosphates as the new bogeyman?

    How about a set of test results? I'd wonder if what's happening isn't that you have a small scale algae bloom and the SWG and the algae are stalemated. What do you get if to grab a sample straight from the return?
    last week i added phosphate remover for pools after 72 hrs i vacuum it directly out of the pool>>my hp is 7.8,alkal 80,total chl 0.1,free chl 0.0 if that can help you ...the sale person said i have to much nitrate. i have my pool for 10 years never had this progrem until i change over to swg...........

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Butterfly's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    10,045

    Re: swg not working

    Well, I think Richard320 has guessed correctly, again.

    You have no chlorine in your pool & you should add liquid chlorine/bleach to help the SWG keep up for now. You probably need to shock.

    The pH needs to be lowered to about 7.4ish.

    What is your CYA level?

    What is the size of your pool, gallons?

    Phosphates are irrelevent in a properly chlorinated pool and nitrates are very rare.
    So, I suggest you forget about that for now and get some chlorine in your pool!

    What test kit are you using?

    Welcome to the forum
    TFP Moderator TF100 Test Kit TF100 TestKit YouTube Channel PoolMath
    You're done SLAMing when:
    1)You lose 1ppm or less FC overnight, & 2)You have .5ppm CC's or less, & 3)your water is clear.

    ~ One should not use a sledge hammer to swat a mosquito. ~

    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  5. Back To Top    #5
    Richard320's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    San Dimas, CA (LA County)
    Posts
    18,768

    Re: swg not working

    I still say, take a sample directly from a return jet with everything running. That will tell you if the SWG is generating chlorine. If it is, then you have algae using it up as fast as you produce it or your CYA level is too low and the sun's UV rays are destroying it as fast as you produce it.

    Take a cup or water bottle, hold it upside down, bring it right over to a return, then tilt it so the return stream blasts straight in. Then quickly right it and pull it out.
    16K freeform gunite with spa; Pentair 4000 DE filter; Century Whisperflow 1 HP; Pentair Minimax heater.
    Troublefree does not mean Maintenancefree. It's like brushing your teeth: You can spend a couple minutes a day and pennies a week or go to the dentist once a year and spend several thousand dollars.
    A pool is like a pet - you have to feed it every day, even the days you don't want to play with it!

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Re: swg not working

    Quote Originally Posted by Butterfly
    Well, I think Richard320 has guessed correctly, again.

    You have no chlorine in your pool & you should add liquid chlorine/bleach to help the SWG keep up for now. You probably need to shock.

    The pH needs to be lowered to about 7.4ish.

    What is your CYA level?

    What is the size of your pool, gallons?

    Phosphates are irrelevent in a properly chlorinated pool and nitrates are very rare.
    So, I suggest you forget about that for now and get some chlorine in your pool!

    What test kit are you using?

    Welcome to the forum
    what is my cyanuric acid (28),the the gallans about 22,000. im useing the the 5 drops tester for ph and chl reading......

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Denton, TX
    Posts
    5,061

    Re: swg not working

    Quote Originally Posted by Richard320
    I still say, take a sample directly from a return jet with everything running. That will tell you if the SWG is generating chlorine.
    Agreed. That's the easiest way to tell whether that cell is working or not.

  8. Back To Top    #8

    In the Industry

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    near the swamp
    Posts
    804

    Re: swg not working

    you need to raise that CYA level up to 60-80ppm

  9. Back To Top    #9
    Butterfly's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    10,045

    Re: swg not working

    Quote Originally Posted by DBfan187
    you need to raise that CYA level up to 60-80ppm
    Yes, but not quite yet. Let's see if he is going to shock. It is much easier to shock at a lower CYA level.
    TFP Moderator TF100 Test Kit TF100 TestKit YouTube Channel PoolMath
    You're done SLAMing when:
    1)You lose 1ppm or less FC overnight, & 2)You have .5ppm CC's or less, & 3)your water is clear.

    ~ One should not use a sledge hammer to swat a mosquito. ~

    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Re: swg not working

    thanks for all your help,you guys really help me understand this swg, im biulding up the (cya) and bring mmy salt up to (3400) it at (3000) ill shock the pool tonight.. tomarrow is a new day with this pool. thanks tom....................

  11. Back To Top    #11
    Lastrites's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Newark, DE
    Posts
    26

    Re: swg not working

    Great to see you finally made it to this wonderful site!!! I will give you some information on the kits to test your CYA when I see you at work this week.
    12,000 gallon 15'-30'AGP (Cartridge Filter) SPECK 1.5 hp (Pump) TAYLOR 2006 (Test Kit)

  12. Back To Top    #12

    Re: swg not working

    Monday i put into the pool 8lb of chlori stabiliz to bring it up from 15ppm to 50ppm but today tuesday it rain so much i had to emty 4in of water out of the pool.they said don't backwash for 3 day when i put in chlori stabiliz Monday i guess i lost all of that stabiliz. i sampled the water from the reture line like you said Richard320 and there were no chlo shown on my test. help

  13. Back To Top    #13
    dmanb2b's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    3,728

    Re: swg not working

    Add liquid chlorine, until we can get the SWG working. Listen to your friend and get a good testkit, including a salt test

    pool-school/pool_test_kit_comparison

    Welcome to TFP
    24'x52" AGP (13,500 Gallons), Intex SWG, (2)Solar Bear 4x20 panels, Hayward S220T Filter, 1/2hp Pentair Superflo

    Pool School, TFTestKits, Pool Calculator

  14. Back To Top    #14

    Re: swg not working

    Quote Originally Posted by dmanb2b
    Add liquid chlorine, until we can get the SWG working. Listen to your friend and get a good testkit, including a salt test

    pool-school/pool_test_kit_comparison

    Welcome to TFP
    Hi, helpers i called the rep from mybluepool and he didnot care about the pool com. that sold me there mach.......he did say my ph, my chlo stabilizer and salt need to up there numbs.im learning from you guys im trying that.he did say my swg needs to 3400 it at 2700 ill try one more week if it doesn't work im closing the pool down until next year............................................ Bull is fedup with the pool this year. Thanks 320 Richard and Mod Squad

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •