Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Stain Problem

1. Back To Top    #1

Stain Problem

I bought a house with a pool last year, so I am a little new to all of this. The pool had been closed all of last year and it was a green mess. Got it all cleared up thanks to lots of bleach and the water looks clear. I had a couple light stains in 2 of the bottom corners. I tried scrubbing them but to no avail.
    I shocked it and they got lighter, but started get darker again. I shocked again and scrubbed with the brush. Again they got lighter, but came back. I looked around online and thought maybe it was a metal stain, so I got some vitamin C tablets. I put them in a stocking and rubbed them on the stain. Did nothing (it may have gotten slightly lighter, but that could be from rubbing it or just imagined). I used about 20 tablets. Now, the stains have now gotten darker and now light stains are forming all around the bottom. Help!

Stats:
    CYA: 50
    FC: 3.5
    CC: 0
    TA: 100
    CH: 70
    PH: 7.4
    Vinyl liner, inground pool. ~18,000 gallons.

A few pics of the stain:
    [attachment=2:1xu5rlrr]photo1.JPG[/attachment:1xu5rlrr]
    [attachment=1:1xu5rlrr]photo2.JPG[/attachment:1xu5rlrr]
    [attachment=0:1xu5rlrr]photo3.JPG[/attachment:1xu5rlrr]
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Intex 16x48 Ultra Frame.
    (B Size) pump
    Saltwater System
    Custom Deck

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Stain Problem

Try holding a trichlor tablet against a stained area for about one minute and see if that does anything.

Do you use anything that might be adding copper to the pool?
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

3. Back To Top    #3

Quote Originally Posted by JasonLion