Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: NEW POOL OWNER... HELP!

1. Back To Top    #1

NEW POOL OWNER... HELP!

Hi , Im happy to have help from people that know what they are doing!! This is my first time with a pool and my boss has recd this site. We just received the water in our above ground pool, its about 7 years old and we got it from a friend.We purchased a new liner and coving. Interested in doing the chlorox instead of pool store stuff. We have a sand filter and going to try and start it tonite. We realized yesterday the hose had a tear in it . So should we use shock from the pool place to start? We got a deluxe kit that was recd. Our pool holds 12,000 gallons. any advise would be great. THANKS
    17 ,000 gal AG vinyl; Hayward 1.5 HP; Hayward sand filter; Hayward auto chl tab feeder (unused, except when nec.); Hayward Pool Heater + solar cover.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: NEW POOL OWNER... HELP!

Is the fill water chlorinated?
    If so, you just need to add a little bleach each evening until you can read Pool School and get it started up.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

3. Back To Top    #3

no ,the water is not chlorinated.
    17 ,000 gal AG vinyl; Hayward 1.5 HP; Hayward sand filter; Hayward auto chl tab feeder (unused, except when nec.); Hayward Pool Heater + solar cover.

4. Back To Top    #4

Can you post test results?
    TFP Moderator TF100 Test Kit TF100 TestKit YouTube Channel PoolMath
    You're done SLAMing when:
    1)You lose 1ppm or less FC overnight, & 2)You have .5ppm CC's or less, & 3)your water is clear.

~ One should not use a sledge hammer to swat a mosquito. ~

If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

5. Back To Top    #5

well i will try later, im on my way to my sons baseball game