Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Did I really need Polyquat 60 algaecide

1. Back To Top    #1

Did I really need Polyquat 60 algaecide

Well I just put my new Intex Easy Set 12' x 36" kiddie pool on Monday. Tuesday I checked the levels and added the pool shock as per the Beginners Guide for Seasonal/Temporary Pools states to do. Wednesday I tested and my ph was at 6.8 so I added 20 oz. of borax per the pool calc. then 30 minutes later added the pool shock again. If I'm understanding this right I need to add the pool shock for 2 more nights than after that just check my fc and ph levels and add bleach and borax as needed right? If I keep up with nightly testing and keeping up with my fc and ph do I still need to use the Polyquat 60 once a week? I'm having a hard time finding it in the stores under that name. I'm totally new to this and having a pool. My husband will kill me if I screw this up. He already thinks I'm crazy using bleach and borax. Any advice for me. My pool only holds 1779 gallons of water and I am using the Intex 1000 gph filter pump and keeping the solar cover on and running the pump overnight. We have yet to swim in the pool because I want to make sure the water is safe.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Did I really need Polyquat 60 algaecide

I am a bit new to this, but from what I have read you typically only shock if there is a *problem. If you can maintain a stable FC overnight (a loss of less than 1), and near 0 CC, then you are good shape.

As for algacise, again from what I have read here, it is not neccessary as clorine will take care of algae as long as the proper chemistry is maintained.
    Vinyl In-Ground (vinyl) - about 21600 gallons (18x32 Grecian)
    Hayward DE (model 7220?) filter with Multiport valve
    Challenger Hi Flo Pump (3/4 HP)
    Intex SWG
    leaky/non-functioning Raypak Versa Natural Gas Heater *removed*

3. Back To Top    #3