Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Help! Chlorine registers Low and Generator is set to high

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Help! Chlorine registers Low and Generator is set to high

    I am very new to pool maintenance and am having trouble raising the chlorine to the proper level in the pool. Both my free and total chlorine are only 0.5 ppm and the SWG is set at the max setting. Should I shock the pool by adding chlorine to boost it? My salt level is fine, it tested at 3,500 ppm.

    Also, the pool is less than a year old and about 13,000 gallons, I usually take the water to a pool store on a weekly basis and have it tested. It seems like every week I need to add 3 to 4 cups of muratic acid, is that normal?

    Thanks in advance for all your help.
    Charles Henry
    24' x 48" generic... still building

  2. Back To Top    #2
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Help! Chlorine registers Low and Generator is set to hig

    Welcome to TFP!

    You should post a full set of water test results and also describe how your water looks.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Central Texas
    Posts
    326

    Re: Help! Chlorine registers Low and Generator is set to hig

    It is also important to let us know how long your pump runs each day. The salt cell only works to generate chlorine while the pump is running, so short run time means less chlorine.
    26,000 Gallon Gunnite IGP
    2 HP Challenger High Head Pump
    60sf Nautilus DE filter
    Polaris 280

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Re: Help! Chlorine registers Low and Generator is set to hig

    I run my pump usually about nine hours a day, the water is pretty clear. I've recently been getting what I believe is a yellow algae around the sides I thought it was from the low chlorine level. What the the vacuum misses I can brush off fairly easily.

    The latest levels I have are below:

    TC: 0.5
    FC: 0.5
    CC: 0.0
    PH: 8.0
    TA: 90

    Is there anything else I should test for?

    Thanks guys
    Charles Henry
    24' x 48" generic... still building

  5. Back To Top    #5
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Help! Chlorine registers Low and Generator is set to hig

    It is important to know your CYA level. It is not nearly as important, but useful to know the CH level.

    Your PH is a little high, and should be lowered to 7.5, but that wouldn't have anything to do with your current issues.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Re: Help! Chlorine registers Low and Generator is set to hig

    Jason is the CYA the same as the Stabilizer? If it is for some reason they didn't test for that or the Calcium Hardness.
    Charles Henry
    24' x 48" generic... still building

  7. Back To Top    #7
    frustratedpoolmom's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    SWSuburban Chicago, IL
    Posts
    11,965

    Re: Help! Chlorine registers Low and Generator is set to hig

    Yes, CYA is Stabilizer.

    Inadequate pool store testing is one of the main reasons we advocate your own reliable test kit.

    You need it in order to do an overnight FC loss test, to determine if organics are consuming the chlorine which is making it impossible for the cell to keep up (I suspect that is the case.)
    Helpful links: Pool School; CYA/Chlorine Chart
    24' round AG pool, 52" high, Raypak heater; Waterway 2 spd Pump;
    150 Sq ft. Clearwater Cartridge Filter; Former and DISSATISFIED "Pool Frog" owner
    http://www.PerfectlyClearPoolService.com

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Re: Help! Chlorine registers Low and Generator is set to hig

    Quote Originally Posted by frustratedpoolmom
    Yes, CYA is Stabilizer.

    Inadequate pool store testing is one of the main reasons we advocate your own reliable test kit.

    You need it in order to do an overnight FC loss test, to determine if organics are consuming the chlorine which is making it impossible for the cell to keep up (I suspect that is the case.)
    By organics are you referring to sun and rain? If so that is possible I live in Florida and it has been extremely hot the last few weeks.

    I'm starting to agree about me doing my own testing, I just thought taking it to a local pool store was not only a little easier for me but I thought they could test all my levels with much more sophisticated equipment. I guess I'll have to do some research on which type of test equipment to purchase.

    Thanks everybody for all your help.
    Charles Henry
    24' x 48" generic... still building

  9. Back To Top    #9
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Help! Chlorine registers Low and Generator is set to hig

    I recommend getting the TF100 from TFTestKits.net. The Taylor K-2006 is also good. Both of them have the FAS-DPD chlorine test, which is really the only chlorine test that works when you are shocking the pool. They both also have extremely good reliability ratings.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Re: Help! Chlorine registers Low and Generator is set to hig

    Thanks Jason, in the mean time do you think I should add liquid chlorine to raise the level?
    Charles Henry
    24' x 48" generic... still building

  11. Back To Top    #11
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Help! Chlorine registers Low and Generator is set to hig

    You certainly need some chlorine, but you need to know your CYA level to know how much. Do you have any idea what your CYA level is? If you have no idea what CYA is, add at least 2 ppm of chlorine this morning. If the water is cloudy add 10 ppm of chlorine.

    Also, the last I saw, the PH was too high. If you haven't already you should lower PH to 7.5.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  12. Back To Top    #12
    frustratedpoolmom's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    SWSuburban Chicago, IL
    Posts
    11,965

    Re: Help! Chlorine registers Low and Generator is set to hig

    Quote Originally Posted by ricka057
    By organics are you referring to sun and rain?
    No, I meant nascent algae. doing the Overnight test takes sun out of the equasion. Rain has some effect depending on how much and if organic debris is blown into the pool during the rain.
    Helpful links: Pool School; CYA/Chlorine Chart
    24' round AG pool, 52" high, Raypak heater; Waterway 2 spd Pump;
    150 Sq ft. Clearwater Cartridge Filter; Former and DISSATISFIED "Pool Frog" owner
    http://www.PerfectlyClearPoolService.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •