Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Cloudy water.

1. Back To Top    #1

Cloudy water.

Hello,

I am new to maintaining pools and having some problem with such. I have a 16'x48'' circular Intex metal frame pool with a 1500gph cartridge filter pump and an Intex Krystal Clear SWG. I had the pool water tested at a pool supply store and they gave me these results:

FC 0.2
    TC 0.2
    CC 0.2
    pH 7.4
    CH 150
    TA 100
    CYA 50
    Copper 0
    Iron 0

The water is pretty cloudy, the chlorine levels won't go above 0.5 when the SWG is running 6 hrs a day and when I test my water I get about 190ppm of TA as apposed to the 100ppm that the pool store tested. I'm just wondering what the cause for the cloudy water could be.

Thanks for any help and let me know if there's any more info you need,

--Whitehat

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Cloudy water.

Welcome to TFP!

You almost certainly have algae. You need to shock the pool, see How to Shock Your Pool in Pool School. That will mean adding chlorine manually, since the SWG can't raise the FC level quickly enough to be effective.

Wait until you have things back in balance, but in the long run you are going to want to raise CYA a bit. The recommended CYA level with a SWG is between 70 and 80.

By the by, TC = FC + CC, so your test results can't be quite right. Either TC is 0.4, or CC is 0. It doesn't really matter here, since they are both very low.

20,000th post!
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

3. Back To Top    #3

Lack of chlorine and the inadequate filter than comes with the Intex set ups.

When you say you get 190 TA, what are you testing with?

If your FC is .2 and your CC is .2 then your TC would be .4, FC which is too low for a CYA of 50.