Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Above Ground Pool Losing Water

1. Back To Top    #1

Above Ground Pool Losing Water

Hi all, my pool is losing a couple of inches of water per day! I just opened it last week. After taking off the cover I did notice the water level was extremely low.

I don't see any water anywhere so I suspect it's leaking out on the floor of the pool and directly going into the ground.

I'm so bummed. I'm not even certain of next steps.

I have zero experience with this so before I get the pool company over here I thought I'd check in to see what my alternatives would be if any.

I'm not certain how old the liner is either, my house is a rental however, I rent from relatives so I can find out the age.

Thanks!
    15,500 gal above ground vinyl pool

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Above Ground Pool Losing Water

How far down was the water when you opened? Looking around the pool about that level would be a good place to start. If it was about the level of the skimmer or return I'd look at those too. Otherwise look closely around the wall for a damp spot.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

3. Back To Top    #3

around March/April the pool cover partially came off during a windstorm (I live in CT) and this is when I noticed there was only about 5 inches in the pool!

so my guess is it was slowly losing water all winter long and I had no idea.

4. Back To Top    #4

If it's not the bottom it's real close. I'd start looking at the seam around the bottom.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump

5. Back To Top    #5