Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: can't get & keep chlorine levels high enough

1. Back To Top    #1

can't get & keep chlorine levels high enough

I'm new to the BBB method. I just drained & refilled because my CYA levels were sky high (>200) thanks to Leslie's "help". This was only 18 months after draining/refilling because of high calcium (again, thanks Leslie's). I'm still learning the BBB method, but already feel more in control. But I'm having trouble getting the chlorine high enough and keeping it there. I test each evening around 6 and have been having to add acid (between 6-18 oz) and bleach (between 64-90 oz of 6%). The filter then runs until 7. By the morning, the FC levels are low again. Yesterday I added more in the morning, but by the afternoon it is low again. I know that Dallas is very hot & the sun is brutal, but wanted to make sure that I'm doing everything correctly. I plan on using up the Leslie's chlorine 3" tabs in a few weeks when we're on vacation and I can't be there to add bleach everyday. I don't mind adding a lot of bleach every day, but wanted to check. Thanks in advance for your help.

This mornings test:
    FC = 1
    CC = 0
    pH = 7.8
    TA = 90
    CYA = 30
    CH = 140
    Kathyo in Texas
    21k gallon IG gunite w/ spa & waterfall; Waterway filter 817-0106; Polaris 280 cleaner

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: can't get & keep chlorine levels high enough

With CYA at 30 and a 21k gallon pool, I would expect you to use between two quarts and a gallon of 6% bleach per day, depending on how sunny it is. If you raise the CYA level just a little, say to 40 or 50, your bleach usage will go down a bit.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

3. Back To Top    #3