Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: What have I got myself into

1. Back To Top    #1

What have I got myself into

Hello all. I'm new to TFP and one year into pool ownership. And boy have I found myself in a bind. My pool is 13,000 gallons and has 1.5" plumbing with a sand filter.

I needed to replace my pump (old one was making an aweful whine and was leaking) so I purchases a Hayward EcoStar Variable Speed Pump with SVRS. At the same time, I figured since I had to do new plumbing, I'd get a salt water conversion and purchased a Hayward Aqua-Rite T-15. After ordering this and receiving the Aqua-Rite, I was told that the pump was on "extreme backorder". So I then purchased a Pentair IntelliFlo VS pump. All of which is 2" piping, but I was told by the sales agents that I just needed a reducer and it would be good.

So I had these items installed by a master plumber and all seemed well, but then I noticed a leak in my valve housing. So I ran down to the local poolstore and paid a fortune for a new valve. I got that installed and this one started leaking too. If these weren't professionally installed by a plumber I'd think I overtightened the threads. It seems that the pump creates too much pressure for the valve.

So my thoughts are that maybe I should purchase a new cartridge filter, thus alleviating the need for a valve. And with 2" couplings it should be able to withstand the pressure from the pump.

My ultimate goal is to run the pump 20 hours a day at 750 RPM with a 30 minute burst at 1400 RPM to capture the debris in the skimmer. This will turn over the pool a couple of times and create enough flow for the chlorinator to generate.

Am I way off base? Am I just out right hosed?

Any input is greatly appreciated.

I've attached a photo for plumbing references (if needed).

Thank you in advance for your help!
    Attached Images Attached Images

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: What have I got myself into