Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: chiefwej from Tucson

1. Back To Top    #1

TFP Guide

chiefwej from Tucson

I am brand new to TFP.

My first pool came with a house I bought some years ago when I lived in Hingham, MA. It was pretty simple to maintain. The season was so short that by the time I got everything out of wack, it was time to close it for winter.

About five years ago, when I had a new house built here in Tucson, where a "nice summer day" runs about 104, I decided I had to have a pool. I didn't know much about water balance and chemistry. I started seeing lots of white flakes in the bottom of the pool. I went online to research it, and found this site.

In the last week, I have bought a TFT test kit, reduced my TA from about 220 to 100 (acid and aeration) , added 15 boxes of 20 Mule Team Borax, along with the acid to get the pH back down to 7.5. The water has never been this clear and sparkling!

Thank You
    TFP

W.E. Johnson, Fire Chief (retired)
    AKA chiefwej
    chiefwej
    Tucson, AZ
    16x36 rectangular (19k) Pebble Tec play pool/spa, Pentair Intelliflo VS 011018, Super II 2hp (spa), Aqua Rite T-15 SWG, Pro Grid 60 DE, Hayward H400 & Heliocol Solar heating, A&A infloor system, fill water w/high CH and TA, 50 ppm borates,TF-100 test kit

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: chiefwej from Tucson

Welcome to TFP!

Sounds like you are on the right track. Keep in mind that one problem that you can run into there in Tucson has to do with your calcium hardness. The hard water there makes it tough to control CH in your pool which can lead to scaling if not kept in check. Be sure to monitor this level and make adjustments when needed.

3. Back To Top    #3

TFP Guide