Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Is it okay to toss tablets in pool?

1. Back To Top    #1

Is it okay to toss tablets in pool?

I'm really excited to start trying the BBB method....in the meantime before i get started with bleach, the previous owner left several buckets of tablets...I've been using them in floaters for the last month or so, but the water is looking a little cloudy....is it okay to toss 5-6 whole tablets freely into the water to get a quick shock effect? does a free floating tablet that's breaking up into chunks do any damage or is it basically the equivalent of pouring in a bunch of liquid bleach? I want to get the water chlorinated quickly so I can begin figuring out what's needed, plus there's some slight algae started in a couple of areas I want to nip in the bud now....what would happen if I tossed in 10-15 tablets freely into the water? as you can see I'm just starting out in this pool stuff!
    -Dan-
    St. Louis, MO
    20,000 gallon vinyl in-ground pool (old-maybe 20yrs?!) - new sand filter (20 GPM) and motor (1.4 HP) - Taylor K-2006 test kit - bought the house w/pool summer 2010 - still learning - thinking about converting to salt

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Is it okay to toss tablets in pool?

Pretty sure they'll sink. Then they'll lay at the bottom, and if you have a vinyl liner, you'll have a bleached-out polka-dotted liner.
    Kansas City, MO
    13500 gallon Foxx vinyl sport pool--inground (1988)
    Cristal-Flo sand filter
    Ray-Pak 406A digital
    1.5 HP single speed
    400 gallon Heldor inground spa, octagon

3. Back To Top    #3

I wouldn't advise it either. Plus, the pucks are meant to dissolve slowly, so won't give the effect you're after. Just go pick up some bleach and get 'er done!
    Chris A.