help with dirt soon after vacuuming

May 18, 2011
I am new to this BBB method and so far things have been going well. I started out with a high cya and kept my chlorine very high. However, after many many partial drains, I believe my cya is down to around 50-70. I just cannot really tell for sure because I have a difficult time with the black dot test on the Taylor kit.

Anyway, my pool stayed sparkling clean during that time that I kept the chlorine levels very high. Recently, I have been trying to keep the levels between 5 - 7 because I think my cya is at 50 - 70. Lately, my pool does not seem to sparkle as much. It seems a bit dull. Also, I am noticing that when I vacuum, the dirt seems to return in about an hour or so. My CC has remained at 0. I have been working on lowering my ph & TA because TA had been running high. I have been getting help in another post on that. I recently lowered my ph to 7.4 again and TA came down to about 100. It is very very hot here and my water temp is staying at around 88°.

I feel that something just isn't right, but I just don't know what. How can I get my water back to sparkling again? And what would be causing the dirt to be back on the bottom so soon after I have vacuumed?

Should I shock again? I have not shocked in about 2 weeks because I read somewhere that it was not always necessary unless something was growing. With cc = 0, I'm assuming that is not the case.

Thanks again for all the advice.

Tracey

How long in a 24 hour period do you run your pump?

I see you have a sand filter—when is the last time you backwashed it? When you do backwash make sure you give it a 30 second rinse cycle to pack the sand back down.

Have you tried skimmer socks? They look sort of like white ladies' kneehighs and fit inside the skimmer basket where they act as a pre-filter and do catch a lot of dirt.