Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: CircuPool SWG Problems

  1. Back To Top    #1

    CircuPool SWG Problems

    New to this forum; buddy says it's great for getting info.
    My issue is with my new CircuPool SWG that I replaced my old Zodiac with. It won't generate chlorine at all. I have all the levels where they should be according to the company, but the techs at the company say my phosphates are too high at 200-500. Reading on here that neccessarily isn't true?
    I can definitely see a cloud/gas come off the cells which the company says means it's generating chlorine and I'm taking readings right off the cell at my waterfall.
    Any suggestions? I've been fighting this for 6-8 weeks and have to keep adding chlorine to keep from losing the pool to algae.

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,347

    Re: CircuPool SWG Problems

    Welcome to TFP.
    Do you have a full set of test results? If so post them and how you got them.
    pH
    FC
    CC
    TA
    CH
    CYA
    Salt

    I suspect that you have an algae bloom and it's consuming FC as fast as the swcg can make it.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Re: CircuPool SWG Problems

    I don't have the sheet in front of me, but I had the water professionally tested at a pool store and here's what I remember:
    CC & FC were less than 1
    CYA was high, but not to where I need to drain
    Phosphates 500
    PH 7.4
    Salt 4200

    How do I know if I have an algae problem?
    My cycle with troubleshooting has been trying to get the SWG to work, getting algae during this period, then having to shock and get chlorine back up just to do it all again trying to get generation.

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,347

    Re: CircuPool SWG Problems

    Ok, you NEED a good test kit so you can take control of your pool. Once you have one, there are some very specific tests that can be ran to determine whether you have algea. You can't do it using the pool store tests. If you read around the forum a bit you'll see that the professional tests aren't! They are usually reported to be wildly wrong.

    With high CYA and a FC less than 1 you most surely have algae. You need to raise your FC with bleach to about 10 ppm and hold it there until you can get a good test kit.

    We can help you get your pool cleared up and help you run it so you don't have this problem in the future.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Re: CircuPool SWG Problems

    OK, finally got one of the kits recommended for testing water. The generator will not generate enough chlorine for the pool without adding bleach to keep at acceptable levels. I did a FC overnight test as listed in the pool school and lost about .5ppm overnight, so if I understand correctly, I don't have a problem with something depleting the chlorine? the manufacturer of this new generator says it's working correctly if I can see the gas come off the cell, but it definitely can't generate chlorine. I'm at the point of returning it and asking for my money back and just sticking with bleach. Any suggestions?

  6. Back To Top    #6
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: CircuPool SWG Problems

    Please post a complete set of test results.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  7. Back To Top    #7
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,347

    Re: CircuPool SWG Problems

    In fact, post the last night and this morning results. Especially the FC & CC's
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Re: CircuPool SWG Problems

    PH: 7.6
    FC night: 1.8
    FC morning: 1.2
    CC: 0

  9. Back To Top    #9
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: CircuPool SWG Problems

    Do you know your CYA level?
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Re: CircuPool SWG Problems

    I don't, but the last time it was done it was high, but not excessive.

  11. Back To Top    #11
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: CircuPool SWG Problems

    How the SWG does is very dependent on the CYA level. I suggest you get a new CYA test result.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  12. Back To Top    #12

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Ft Lauderdale, Florida
    Posts
    1,455

    Re: CircuPool SWG Problems

    bfr, please take a fresh water sample and have them test for all the parameters that Bama asked for (post #2), and report them to us.
    How many hours per day is your pump running? Are you currently running at 100% output?
    First, ensure you're at 100% and the cell is generating (by the bubbles in the cell), wait a few minutes, loosen the union after the cell, and take a water sample from that point. If it shows a higher chlorine level than what's in your pool, the cell is generating chlorine.
    If theres no bubbling action, your salt system is not working properly.
    Do you have any warning lights on the control unit?

    How new is the unit? Do you have the correct voltage going to it? Most systems are factory supplied for 220 volts.
    Sean Assam - Sean@teamhorner.com
    National Accounts and Commercial Products Manager
    AquaCal Heat Pumps www.aquacal.com
    AutoPilot Salt Chlorine Generators www.autopilot.com

  13. Back To Top    #13

    Re: CircuPool SWG Problems

    CYA is right around 100. My pump is running 9 hours a day at 100% as is the generator. Just cleaned the cell this weekend and the entire system was just installed in April. I bought one step up for the size of my pool so it wouldn't have to run 100% (per company). I do see the gas coming off the cell and can see it stop when I shut the generator off. There aren't any warning lights on and have calibrated the salt level (3900ppm) to the unit. I just added bleach this morning, so I'm up to 3ppm again in FC, still no CC. PH remains the same. I'll try that method for getting a sample and see what it's got, but it'll have to wait until the FC comes back down. I also had to put some chlorine pucks on the pool floor to fight black algae that has moved in and won't budge. Any of that help?

  14. Back To Top    #14
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: CircuPool SWG Problems

    Your CYA level is probably higher than 100. Several of the common CYA tests will report levels over 100 as if they were 100.

    Most likely you have a low level algae problem, there is enough algae to use up all your chlorine, but not enough to be visibly obvious. Getting rid of algae when CYA is that high is extremely difficult. I would replace water to get CYA down below 100, then shock the pool, and after that the SWG will probably work just fine.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  15. Back To Top    #15

    Re: CircuPool SWG Problems

    Really? Drain the pool? I'll check with CircuPool again, but when I gave them all the numbers, they didn't seem overly concerned.

  16. Back To Top    #16
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,347

    Re: CircuPool SWG Problems

    Circupool is not really gonna help you but that's your prerogative. When you want help, just post back and we'll help you out.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  17. Back To Top    #17

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Ft Lauderdale, Florida
    Posts
    1,455

    Re: CircuPool SWG Problems

    Not completely drain down your pool. Just enough to get your cya level to about 75 ppm. Mayby start with draining 6" - 10" of water at a time and refill, until you're able to get the cya down. Unfortunately, that's the only way to get cya levels down. Most test kits will read to 100 ppm, and if it is higher, you're not able to discern what level it's at.
    Sean Assam - Sean@teamhorner.com
    National Accounts and Commercial Products Manager
    AquaCal Heat Pumps www.aquacal.com
    AutoPilot Salt Chlorine Generators www.autopilot.com

  18. Back To Top    #18

    Re: CircuPool SWG Problems

    THE ELECTRICAL WIRES ARE HOOKED UP CORRECTLY AND IT IS A 220v MY CIRCUPOOL SALT WATER PUMP I JUST GOT IT YESTERDAY IT WAS HOOKED UP CORRECTLY BUT IT'S NOT POWERING ON IS THERE SOMETHING ELSE I CAN DO TO GET IT WORKING?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •