Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
Pentair Intellichlor IC-60
Hi Everyone!

Being a newbie, i went to leslies after inheriting the pool in my newly purchased house. Asked Leslies what to do and how to maintain the pool... they promptly sold me chlorine and i bought dichlor powder thinking i was making a smart move by buying the biggest bucket they had for the value... Leslies didnt care to tell me dichlor raises the CYA.

My CYA has jumped from 40 to 80 and i have algae in pool while maintaining FC at 2-4. Right now i am shocking the pool to get rid of algae. I have 3/4 full 60 Lb bucket of dichlor in my garage. What do i do? if i continue to use it my CYA will continue to rise. I would like to stay away from water changes as far as possible because of disposal laws and simply the high water prices in my area.

What do you guys suggest for me to use now? leave the dichlor alone and switch to bleach or liquid chlorine?

I have not been using a floater and just brought one today. trichlor tabs also add CYA but I would like to have the security of maintaining the FC level during the week when i cant test the water. How about using the trichlor tabs with algecide in them and keeping the FC level a bit lower than what pool calculator says to prevent skin irritation?

Pool pump is running 11 hours a day with turnover rate of almost 1.1.

Any help would be most appreciated!

Hi Suley! I am going to answer within your post in red.
Suley said:
Hi Everyone!

Being a newbie, i went to leslies after inheriting the pool in my newly purchased house. Asked Leslies what to do and how to maintain the pool... they promptly sold me chlorine and i bought dichlor powder thinking i was making a smart move by buying the biggest bucket they had for the value... Leslies didnt care to tell me dichlor raises the CYA.