Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: TA 240plus, i cant get Fc to register

1. Back To Top    #1

TA 240plus, i cant get Fc to register

Newbie Here in need of help!

Opened Pool and cant get FC to go up at all, I used pool opening kit and 5 jugs of shock and still no FC it is at zero.

I have added a gallon of 31% muratic acid to try and bring down TA

I want to use bbb method but cant seem to get levels correct
    I used Aquachek strip, PH= 7.4, FC-=0, TA blue 240+, Stablizer=40-50.

running filter canstantly. I had major algea problems all last year and went through a ton of chlorine.
    any ideas?
    Brian
    22,000 gallon in ground Gunite pool(Beauty Pool, 22 yrs old)) with built in hot tub,
    Hayward DE75 Filer and Pump, Haywood Heater, AutoMatic pool timer, BBB Method folower.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: TA 240plus, i cant get Fc to register

Welcome to TFP!

Don't worry about your TA for now. You need to shock your pool.

It's important to know that shock is a process, rather than a product. This article should help...

pool-school/shocking_your_pool

I would also like for you to consider purchasing a high quality test kit. Test strips are of little value when maintaining a pool. Please go to www.tftestkits.net and purchase either a TF-100 (best) or a Taylor K-2006 (good). A good test kit will save you lots of problems and $$$$ down the road.

3. Back To Top    #3

One of the reason you cant get your number straight is because of the test strips. They are highly inacurate. I would suggest you get a good test kit like the Taylor k-2006 or the TF-100 that is recommended on this forum. Link is in my sig.

Post a set of good numbers.

FC
    CC
    PH
    TA
    CH
    CYA

Mark Crook
    13,500 Gallon 24' x 52" Intex Ultra Frame
    Intex Sand Filter and Pump, Intex SWG (All hard PVC plumbed)
    TFTestKit-100---Pool School---The Pool Calculator