Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Hayward 1 1/2 too much for 20' Intex?

1. Back To Top    #1

Hayward 1 1/2 too much for 20' Intex?

Newbie here, but I'm hooked on this site and hobby! Started on an Intex 20x4 project a couple weeks ago. Buried half w/ 6 inch drop towards the middle. Framed out my pump house that backs up to the pool w/ a 4x6 glass basketball backboard. Decking is half done. Now for the backbone. I purchased an enormous Hayward 200 series sand filter off of craigslist, and now have found a Hayward 1 1/2hp powerflo, new in box, for $160. Price seems too good to pass up. Is it too much pump, especially for the one suction? I realize energy costs would go up, but wouldn't it have to run much less than the Intex 2500gpm pump? My main concern would be so much suction it could hurt someone. What could make this pump possibly work or should I move on to something smaller? Thanks!

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Hayward 1 1/2 too much for 20' Intex?

Yes that is way more pump than you need! I don't think there would be a problem with it hurting someone, unless they go around sticking their hands in the skimmer. (I assume you are putting in a skimmer.) The flow around the pool is going to look like a waterpark ride. What model intex pool are you using? The best pump would be a 1 hp 2 speed pump. You could use the 1 1/2 hp pump, but it would be overkill.
    TFP Moderator
    Helpful links: TF Test Kits,TFP Pool School, PoolMath
    Vogue 21' round AG, Pentair 1 hp 2 speed pump, 36 sq ft DE filter, Hayward S180T 150# sand filter, Houston, Texas
    Love TFP? Become a
    TFP Supporter!

3. Back To Top    #3