Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Sodium dithionite - iron out

1. Back To Top    #1

Sodium dithionite - iron out

The product Iron Out contains Sodium Dithionite (smaller amounts of Citrix acid and some ph stabilizers)

The companies FAQ specifically says they don't recommend it for use in a pool although it can be used for iron stain removal in an empty pool

Mostly curious but what would be the chemical problem or end result from using this vs ascorbic or oxalic acids in stain removal

Now while I have a BS in molecular biology I'm a surgeon by nature so it's been awhile since I've looked at a lot of formulas but as far as I can tell the reduction of iron oxide would the leave you with some sulfates or sulfites, the only worrisome product might be Thiosulfate but that would seem to quickly react with chlorine to get back to sulfate.

Seems this chemical is commonly used in water treatment so I'm curious if anyone with a better knowledge of chemistry has any thoughts

The product certainly works well, see my other post where I removed some local iron staining but didn't add it to the pool at large

While were talking about it what is the end product of using citric or oxalic acids I assume since they are organic acids they eventually get oxidized by the chlorine down to harmless end products
    13,000 gal gunite/pebbletec pool/spa, pentair FNSplus DE filter, Whiperflo pumps, Jandy Aqualink/PDA, gas heater, Polaris 360, Nature2, DelZone Eclipse 1

Builder: Anthony Sylvan Charlotte, 2009

2. Back To Top    #2
    Tucson, AZ

Re: Sodium dithionite - iron out

This is just a guy's opinion, there are people on this forum with much more chemistry chops than myself.