Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Trying to get the water balanced

1. Back To Top    #1

Trying to get the water balanced

I am new to all this chemistry stuff, but I am determined to get it balanced. I did purchase the Taylor Complete FAS-DPD K-2006 kit.

Here are the readings I got;

CYA 30 ppm
    PH 8.0
    Calcium Hardness 420 ppm
    TA 150 ppm
    CC 0.40 ppm
    FC 0.35 ppm

I'm thinking I need to add about 15 oz of Muriatic Acid to bring down the TA. I have read where some people suggest to aerate the water. I have spa jets in the steps would that help? What else do I need to do? BTW, you guys have been so helpful! I have directed many of my friends to come to this forum to help them with their pool needs.
    14,700 gal. 14 x 28 rectangle with 2R IG by Hydra Pools, 1 hp Hayward Maxflow ll, Hayward 24" Sand Filter, Aquarite Electronic SWG, one Aqua Genie Complete Skimmer, two main drains, four returns, 2 spa jets in steps, 30ml Tidewater liner. Taylor K-2006 Test Kit

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Trying to get the water balanced

Your pH is also too high. Use The Pool Calculator to determine how much MA you need to bring pH to 7.5, then worry about bring down the TA.

If you are using a SWG for chlorine, then your CYA needs to be at 70 ppm, and your chlorine should be 3-5 ppm at all times. Look here for recommended levelsfor your pool.
    TFP Moderator
    Helpful links: TF Test Kits,TFP Pool School, PoolMath
    Vogue 21' round AG, Pentair 1 hp 2 speed pump, 36 sq ft DE filter, Hayward S180T 150# sand filter, Houston, Texas
    Love TFP? Become a
    TFP Supporter!

3. Back To Top    #3

Quote Originally Posted by zea3
    Your pH is also too high. Use The Pool Calculator to determine how much MA you need to bring pH to 7.5, then worry about bring down the TA.