Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: New to the BBB method

1. Back To Top    #1

New to the BBB method

I am new to using this method this year. I must say that so far I am very pleased! After spending tons of cash at the pool store last season and never getting a clear pool something had to change. I have read and reread the pool school....so much so my dh thinks I am obsessed with the pool and this site I have come to terms with the fact I will not be dropping in tablets this year... so I just need to check my FC level every evening and add the appropriate amount of bleach? Also my water is very cloudy, but getting better everyday. I have been vacuuming to waste because we had a tragic event of the cover going in with alot of leaves and debris. I can't see the bottom of the pool. Is this procedure ok? Thanks for any and all advice!
    17K gal, AG, Hayward Sandfilter, new to the BBB method.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: New to the BBB method

To answer your question directly. Yes it's fine to vacuum to waste even when you can't see what you're vacuuming.

Now as an aside. I hope you're shocking your pool if you have a lot of debris in it. Post a full set of test results and how you got them and we'll advise you on how you're doing.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

3. Back To Top    #3

I am working with a walmart test kit for now. I have been shocking the pool for 5 days and been through 35 gallons of bleach. It looks so much better! Here are my latest results.
    FC- 10+
    CC- .5
    PH- 7.2 from what I have read this is not reliable with high FC levels. It was 8.4 when I started and I added the acid at that time
    TA- 80
    CYA-0 I have added 5lbs