Have decided to go the BBB route

May 25, 2011
My home test kit is the cheap hth which read 170 TA , but my test strip read 150.so i went to the pool store and they tested, which came up with 108.Dont know why the difference. Im pretty new to pools. The pool store also recommended raising my TA to 125-150, but this site suggests 60-90.any help would be greatly appreciated..

Re: BBB for Beginners

tc 3, fc 3, ta 108, th 230, ph 7.6 cya 27.this was the pool stores test results. i have a 10000 gallon agp with a brand new cartridge filter and matrix pump. just opened cover about a week ago filled water and shocked water looks good.

Welcome to the forum :wave: .

Unless you are having trouble with your pH rising at an annoying rate, I'd leave the TA alone.

We recommend a TA higher than 90 if you are using trichlor tablets for chlorine. It would be good if you could tell us more about your pool and equipment and post a full set of water test results.

ETA: your numbers look good. I suggest you bump your CYA to 40 or 50.