Become a TFP Supporter Welcome to our new server and new forum software. Pool School

Thread: Granular chlorine vs. liquid

Granular chlorine vs. liquid

I was making my usual run to Walmart last night picking up my load of bleach and the guy standing behind me in the checkout line said that he did use bleach until he found the granular chlorine at Lowe's. He said it was cheaper and more convenient than Clorox.

I have been using bleach for 2-3 years now and have been very pleased other than the inconvenience of carrying bleach jugs. I used a LOT of bleach last year....

He said it cost him around $125 for his bucket from last year and he did not use all of it.

Why would I not want to use the dry bleach????

Just how much bleach should a normal season require???? My pool is 52 in x 30 ft round vinyl AG.
    30ft round; sand; AG; vinyl

Re: Granular chlorine vs. liquid

Granular chlorine is most likely dichlor, which means it will rapidly increase your CYA.
    TFP Moderator
    20K Gallon 20X36 Vinyl Inground
    Hayward S244T Sand Filter with 1HP Whisperflo Pump. Liquidator C-201 and Solar Heat

Quote Originally Posted by phyllis
    I was making my usual run to Walmart last night picking up my load of bleach and the guy standing behind me in the checkout line said that he did use bleach until he found the granular chlorine at Lowe's. He said it was cheaper and more convenient than Clorox.

I have been using bleach for 2-3 years now and have been very pleased other than the inconvenience of carrying bleach jugs. I used a LOT of bleach last year....

He said it cost him around $125 for his bucket from last year and he did not use all of it.

Why would I not want to use the dry bleach????

Just how much bleach should a normal season require???? My pool is 52 in x 30 ft round vinyl AG.