Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Jandy Aqualink RS6 Indoor Panel not responding

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    4

    Jandy Aqualink RS6 Indoor Panel not responding

    Hi. I'm new here and tried doing a few searches without much luck on this subject.

    I have a Jandy RS6 controller in the house that "locked up" the other day. I hit the reset button on the side and all of the lights came on and stayed on. Made a short jumper to connect the panel out to the main power panel outside, hooked it up that way and played with it for 15 minutes and all functions worked correctly so I assumed bad wiring between the main panel and remote panel. I pulled in new wiring this weekend and hooked everything back up. It worked fine for about and hour, then went unresponsive again. If I disconnect the remote panel, give it a some time and reconnect it will sometimes respond to inputs.

    As it sits right now I had it up and running long enough to program in a filter and cleaner schedule. It then went unresponsive but is still starting and stopping the filter and cleaner according to the schedule. It will occasionally update the time and temperature on the display or sometimes freeze up on the date or give the model and revision "HH" number of the equipment.

    Everything works fine in "Service" mode on the main panel outside. I'm not too familiar with the system, but it seems like some component is heating up or going out on the remote panel. Is there anything else I can check or individual components I can replace before replacing the entire remote panel?

    This is the panel in question in case I'm not describing it correctly.



    Thanks.

  2. Back To Top    #2
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Jandy Aqualink RS6 Indoor Panel not responding

    Welcome to TFP!

    That really sounds like a bad wire or bad connections. Double check that all of the wires at both ends are firmly connected and there isn't any corrosion on the terminals.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    4

    Re: Jandy Aqualink RS6 Indoor Panel not responding

    I'm about 99% sure the wiring is good. The old stuff I pulled out was fine and I've checked and re-checked the new connections several times. I went home yesterday intending to do an extended test with my short "jumper" connecton just to eliminate all doubt but the controller had somehow healed itself during the day and everything was working fine so I didn't bother with it. It's still running without an issue...knock wood.

    So I guess I'm not sure if it's wiring or some component is on its way out or if it just needed a few power cycles on the panel to clear itself up. Also not sure if it's related but the lock up seemed to happen every time I went to the program menu to schedule the run times. I haven't fooled around with any of those functions again so there may be some gremlin in that part of the circuitry. I'll keep an eye on it for now and see how it goes.

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Re: Jandy Aqualink RS6 Indoor Panel not responding

    Does your system have a spa-side switch? When RS-x systems start acting weird, it's the first thing I check.

    Also, the "intelligence" of the system is not in this panel, it is in the motherboard located at the pool-pad... While it could be a panel issue, it is highly unlikely - especially if your replaced the wiring.
    ~45Kg Pool with attached Spa, NSP-72 DE, Minmax 400 Heater, Tahoe Blue Pebbletech, Jandy SWG via Aqualink RS-8, The Pool Cleaner (black)
    Pumps: X3 Hybrid Pump (switches to SPA), 2HP Spa (additional, when SPA is on), and a 1HP For Waterfall
    8, 4x12 Solar Panels on the roof of the pool-house (~12' up)
    CAPTAIN JAMES T. KIRK: "I'M SORRY. I CAN'T HEAR YOU OVER THE SOUND OF HOW AWESOME I AM" (Thanks to TFP!)

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    4

    Re: Jandy Aqualink RS6 Indoor Panel not responding

    Spoke too soon...it's locked up again but is still running the pump and pool/spa mode according to the programmed schedule. Display shows 6521 REV HH and doesn't respond to any key commands.

    We do have a spa side remote that has been inoperative since we bought the house a few years ago. It's not powered up and I've never messed with it. I'm not sure if it's completely disconnected or not, I'll have to check tomorrow in the daylight.

    I'm trying to think of anything that happened recently and we did have some good thunderstorms and lightning last week. It doesn't appear that anything got wet in the main control panel, but maybe there was a power surge or blip?

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Re: Jandy Aqualink RS6 Indoor Panel not responding

    I am having the EXACT same problem. The "All button" controller has "6700 REV C" displayed with all of the LED's on and with no control from the all button unit. The pump is running as it should with the proper on/off times. The wiring between the all button controller and PCB board is OK, even hooked the all button direct to the PCB with the same problem. Looking at the PCB, I noticed there are two 'chips', one is the processor and the other I am not sure of. Could these be reseated??? Any help would be appreciate since this has been going on for a couple of weeks. THANKS!!!
    - NP -

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Re: Jandy Aqualink RS6 Indoor Panel not responding

    I am in Orlando. I have the very same problem. We have checked all the wires to the panel. We even did a jumper at the main panel. When you reset the remote panel it will work for a little while and then all the lights come on and stay on. And the panel does not respond.

    Does anybody know where to get a replacement remote panel at a reasonable price? Has anybody tried another panel yet?

    Thanks Owillis
    10,700 gal Round; Vinyl liner,
    New Hayward pump ProFlo 1.5....150 lb. sand filter.
    Baqua to BBB.....BBB is the only way to go!!!!
    A Cinderella story with a "happy ever after" ending.

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Prince George, VA
    Posts
    33

    Re: Jandy Aqualink RS6 Indoor Panel not responding

    I don't know if the following raises more ?'s than it answers, but look up Jandy aqualink part #6908 and see if any of you experiencing this problem with your controllers has it installed...I'll bet you don't. It appears to me that while this part is billed as a "surge suppressor" and doubles the warranty from 1 to 2 years, what it really does is get rid of RFI and/or common mode currents which can wreak havoc on digital circuits with often bizarre and random effects. If this is the case, a cheap fix may be to place ferrite beads on both ends of the cable going from the controller to the power center. A good source of ferrite beads is: http://palomar-engineers.com/rfi-kit .
    HAM radio operators have been using them for years to fix everything from their voice coming out of their neighbors' stereos to stopping garage doors opening and closing as well as home alarms going off.
    If any of you try these ferrite beads or wrapping the wires around a ferrite core, please post your results and also post if your systems have part #6908 installed.
    Thanks,
    Bill
    Barrier Reef Pacific1-Pacific color 37'9" X 14'1" fiberglass IG ~ 17,500 gallons, FHPM1.0-2 Jandy FloPro pump, Jandy Aquapure 1400 SWG, Waterco Multicyclone 16 pre filter, Jandy CV580 filter, 3 PAL-2000 RU LED lights, 1 skimmer, 2 main drains, 3 returns, 2" rigid pvc suction and return plumbing, BBB method, TF100 Kit

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Prince George, VA
    Posts
    33

    Re: Jandy Aqualink RS6 Indoor Panel not responding

    I have done more reading and believe my earlier post was not correct. From the RS installation manual:

    *******SYMPTOM**********************************PROBLEM***** *******************************POSSIBLE SOLUTION****************************************************
    ************************************************************ ************************************************************ ************************************************

    All LEDs are on at the control*****************Control panel is not*******************Check the two center wires (black & yellow)***************************************
    panel and the part # and*********************communicating with the power********of the four conductor cable. Also check the installation****************************
    revision letter of the control******************center PCB. ***************************of the PPD on the power center PCB.***********************************************
    panel software are displayed.************************************************** ******If the PPD is not seated correctly the system will***********************************
    The override switches at the********************************************************* not communicate.************************************************ *****************
    power center operate as they******************************************************** ************************************************************ ***********************
    should.***************************************************** ************************************************************ ************************************************




    All LEDs are on at the control************1. Damaged or improperly***************1. Check alignment of the PPD.******************************************************
    panel and the part # and*****************installed PPD.****************************2. If PPD is installed correctly, replace the*******************************************
    revision letter are displayed, but*********2. Damaged power center****************power center PCB.******************************************************** ***********
    override switches at the power***********PCB.
    center do not operate at all.

    I apologize if my earlier post caused anybody heartburn and would still like to know if your system has the surge protection kit, Part #6908 installed. You can post that information here: jandy-aqualink-rs-p4-s-t44697.html

    Thanks,
    Bill
    Barrier Reef Pacific1-Pacific color 37'9" X 14'1" fiberglass IG ~ 17,500 gallons, FHPM1.0-2 Jandy FloPro pump, Jandy Aquapure 1400 SWG, Waterco Multicyclone 16 pre filter, Jandy CV580 filter, 3 PAL-2000 RU LED lights, 1 skimmer, 2 main drains, 3 returns, 2" rigid pvc suction and return plumbing, BBB method, TF100 Kit

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Re: Jandy Aqualink RS6 Indoor Panel not responding

    to tsflstb,
    I have the same problem, how did you resolve it? was it the Spa side switch?
    Thanks,
    Carmine

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    1

    Re: Jandy Aqualink RS6 Indoor Panel not responding

    My Jandy Aqualink RS 6 was working all these years until the pool temperature sensor went out recently. I replaced the sensor and the pool is now accurately shown on the display. But now when the programmed time on the controller is off, the pump continues to run. In fact I couldn't turn the pump off without using the circuit breaker. Does anyone have any idea how to fix it? Thanks.

  12. Back To Top    #12
    akhil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Irving, Texas
    Posts
    31

    Re: Jandy Aqualink RS6 Indoor Panel not responding

    Hi- I have Aqualink RS6 Pool/Spa Control.

    Since last week I am having issue with Spa light turning on automatically. It is very sporadic and spa light turn's on at any time. Also yesterday my filter turn on in the night (even tough it is set during day time).

    Can someone please help with why button's are turning on at random time?

    Thanks,
    Akhil
    Year built: 2000, 16,000 Gallon, In Ground Pebble pool- 90' perimeter/19'*35'(W*L), Pentair Pool filter, 200 sq.ft. cartridge filter, Jandy energy filter, Polaris 360 pool Cleaner, Clear Vision natural water purifier : Model XG, Century centurion pump motor (HP 2.0, Hz: 60, Type: CX), Jandy valve (JVA 2440), Pool heating- Delta family (120V, 60Hz, 3 amps), Aqualink RS6 pool/spa control

  13. Back To Top    #13

    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Newberry, FL
    Posts
    3

    Re: Jandy Aqualink RS6 Indoor Panel not responding

    Did you resolve the issue with your Jandy RS6 controller. I am having exactly the same issue. Thanks, Dan

  14. Back To Top    #14

    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Sherwood Forest, California
    Posts
    1

    Re: Jandy Aqualink RS6 Indoor Panel not responding

    I have the same problem as your. Control panel show 6700 REV C, have you found out the problem. Please help. Thanks.
    In ground, 35,000 gallons plastered with spa water over flow into the pool

  15. Back To Top    #15

    In the Industry
    Pool Clown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Silicon Valley, CA
    Posts
    1,636

    Re: Jandy Aqualink RS6 Indoor Panel not responding

    To the last three posters:

    Try either disconnecting your 4 button remote (inside the outdoor panel), or disable it in the menu.
    When the 4 button begins to fail, it may behave just as you are describing.
    Factory Warranty Station for:
    Jandy/Zodiac, Pentair, Sta-Rite, Raypak, Polaris,
    and Paramount pool cleaning systems.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •