Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: ColorQ...sad faces

1. Back To Top    #1

ColorQ...sad faces

Man, I'm really bummed. I've been using a ColorQ Pro 7 for a few months as I put my new pool online and just found out today that it's giving me bogus readings. They may be consistent, but they are waaaaaay off.

It says my PH is 7.3, it's really 8.4 (ouch)
    It says my FC is 1, it's really 3.2
    It says my CH is 150, it's really 130
    It says my ALK is 150, it's really 100

Ironically, the reason I now know this is that I installed a PH probe today (chemlink system), and the initial reading was 8.5. I thought the PH was 7.3, so I figured the probe was DOA. Before I RMA'd it, I got the water tested by the pool store.....and woah...glad I did that.

Amazing that it's so poor. I saw several threads here that recommended the unit (thought peppered with skeptics who I should have listened to).

So now I'm looking for a better test kit...
    38K Gallons IG, Intelliflow VS-SVRS, 30GPM 24/7, 72sqft DE Filter, Spectralight UV, Jandy C1900 driving Liquid Chlorine and Acid (toys, I know..), Jandy LXi gas heater, Aquacal SQ175 Heatpump, Riverflow Competition swimmer, Jandy automation, Touch and iAqualink, Pebblesheen | The Build

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: ColorQ...sad faces

There may be reason to be leery of the pool store too.
    13K Gal., Plaster, SWG, Intellichlor IC 20, Sta-Rite 1 HP Pump, Sta-Rite PLM 300 Filter, Pentair LED, Solar, Screened Enclosure, Great White, TF-100

3. Back To Top    #3

Whaaaa?

Most around here love and recommend the TF100 and the Taylor 2006, both great kits!. But, the TF100 is a better bang for the buck.

We have a Test Kit comparrison in Pool School, too.
    TFP Moderator TF100 Test Kit TF100 TestKit YouTube Channel PoolMath
    You're done SLAMing when:
    1)You lose 1ppm or less FC overnight, & 2)You have .5ppm CC's or less, & 3)your water is clear.