Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: How to Install rail over the steps?

  1. Back To Top    #1
    les_garten's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    PSL, FL
    Posts
    153

    How to Install rail over the steps?

    Just bought a new Pool! Came with a house!

    The pool has no rails over the stepdown. What is the procedure for installing the rails.

    Concrete Cantileaver deck Inground pool.
    14x30 PebbleTec(Caribbean Blue) 12,000 Gals BORAX
    Pentair IntelliFlo <<>> Pentair FNS Plus DE
    Pentair 5G Intellibrite w/Intellibrite Controller
    ROME Solarium 125 Heat Pump
    Kreepy Krauly Classic <<>> Pentair 320 Feeder

  2. Back To Top    #2
    orthofish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Northern Middle Tn.
    Posts
    562

    Re: How to Install rail over the steps?

    Hey les_garten,
    Welcome to TFP. I can't answer your question, but I'm sure someone will come along a help you out.
    Lynn

    16x38 FG, 20,400G, 1HP/2sp Tristar pump, Hayward 425sq ft cart. filter, Pro Logic4, SWCG, 3 returns, 2 main drains, 1 skimmer, 4 Pentair deck jets, Hayward Phantom pressure cleaner/booster pump, TF-100 of course :-)orthofish-s-pool-build-finally-t13179.html

  3. Back To Top    #3
    les_garten's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    PSL, FL
    Posts
    153

    Re: How to Install rail over the steps?

    Quote Originally Posted by orthofish
    Hey les_garten,
    Welcome to TFP. I can't answer your question, but I'm sure someone will come along a help you out.

    Thanx!

    This is a Forumus Awesomus!
    14x30 PebbleTec(Caribbean Blue) 12,000 Gals BORAX
    Pentair IntelliFlo <<>> Pentair FNS Plus DE
    Pentair 5G Intellibrite w/Intellibrite Controller
    ROME Solarium 125 Heat Pump
    Kreepy Krauly Classic <<>> Pentair 320 Feeder

  4. Back To Top    #4
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: How to Install rail over the steps?

    Rails normally mount to the same kind of deck anchors that ladders mount to. Typically a large core drill is used to drill holes in the deck and anchors are then cemented in place in the holes. It is a little tricky if you use metal rails on an existing pool deck, since then the anchor needs to be bonded (electrically connected to the bonding system with #8 bare copper wire) so you have to find somewhere to wire the anchors to.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  5. Back To Top    #5
    les_garten's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    PSL, FL
    Posts
    153

    Re: How to Install rail over the steps?

    Quote Originally Posted by JasonLion
    Rails normally mount to the same kind of deck anchors that ladders mount to. Typically a large core drill is used to drill holes in the deck and anchors are then cemented in place in the holes. It is a little tricky if you use metal rails on an existing pool deck, since then the anchor needs to be bonded (electrically connected to the bonding system with #8 bare copper wire) so you have to find somewhere to wire the anchors to.
    Glad I posted thgis here.

    I was reading some posts in the builders thread. I noticed this bonding stuff. That's why I decided to post. I was thinking up till then, it was drill a few holes and that would be it.

    This sounds practically inpossible to do correctly/safely without a ton of expense.
    14x30 PebbleTec(Caribbean Blue) 12,000 Gals BORAX
    Pentair IntelliFlo <<>> Pentair FNS Plus DE
    Pentair 5G Intellibrite w/Intellibrite Controller
    ROME Solarium 125 Heat Pump
    Kreepy Krauly Classic <<>> Pentair 320 Feeder

  6. Back To Top    #6
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: How to Install rail over the steps?

    You can, but it is annoying. You cut a slot from the anchor to somewhere else and push the wire down into it. The main challenge is figuring out where you can get a good connection to the bonding system.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Central NJ
    Posts
    3,192

    Re: How to Install rail over the steps?

    Another option is to use plastic sockets and rails. Saftron make them.

    Scott
    Owner of - PoolGuyNJ LLC
    Expert Pool and Spa Repairs, Renovations, and Augmentation. Helping people decide what is the right gear for meeting their needs. Expectations Set, Expectations Met, No Surprises.

  8. Back To Top    #8
    les_garten's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    PSL, FL
    Posts
    153

    Re: How to Install rail over the steps?

    Quote Originally Posted by PoolGuyNJ
    Another option is to use plastic sockets and rails. Saftron make them.

    Scott
    Thanx! This looks interesting!
    14x30 PebbleTec(Caribbean Blue) 12,000 Gals BORAX
    Pentair IntelliFlo <<>> Pentair FNS Plus DE
    Pentair 5G Intellibrite w/Intellibrite Controller
    ROME Solarium 125 Heat Pump
    Kreepy Krauly Classic <<>> Pentair 320 Feeder

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •