Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Replace old style Aquapure 2 port Cell with new style 3 port

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    10

    Replace old style Aquapure 2 port Cell with new style 3 port

    Tried searching and did not come up with anything.

    Does anyone have a step by step guide on doing this (preferably with pictures)?

    Looks like I have a tri sensor going bad and the cell is now at 5 years old, figured I would just get the replacement kit instead of shelling out almost $200 for a new sensor alone.

    Thanks for the help.
    In-Ground SWG lagoon pool 29,000 gal., Jandy CL460 Filter, 2.0hp filter pump, 1.5hp waterfall pump, Paramount PV3 In-Floor cleaning sys., Aquapure 1400 Purelink SWG, manual wall cleaner (me).

  2. Back To Top    #2
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Replace old style Aquapure 2 port Cell with new style 3

    Welcome to TFP!

    Replacing the old cell with the new style cell requires some plumbing work, since they aren't the same size. The details of the plumbing vary depending on how your plumbing is currently setup. If you post a picture we can give more specific advice.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    10

    Re: Replace old style Aquapure 2 port Cell with new style 3

    Thanks for the quick response, I will try and get a photo tonight and post it tomorrow.
    BTY, new poster to the forum, but have been reading and using your advice for 4 years now - great site, blew off the Pool Store and bought a TFT kit and been keeping up my own pool maintenance since. I replaced the front board (for sure) and the sensor (I think) last season. Now having problems again, codes all indicate it is the sensor this time.
    In-Ground SWG lagoon pool 29,000 gal., Jandy CL460 Filter, 2.0hp filter pump, 1.5hp waterfall pump, Paramount PV3 In-Floor cleaning sys., Aquapure 1400 Purelink SWG, manual wall cleaner (me).

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    10

    Re: Replace old style Aquapure 2 port Cell with new style 3

    Here is how my Aquapure 1400 cell (old style) is installed:
    [attachment=1:34gtvvrx]IMG_0056.jpg[/attachment:34gtvvrx]
    [attachment=0:34gtvvrx]IMG_0059.jpg[/attachment:34gtvvrx]

    Trying to get an idea of what additional needs to be done and any other parts needed with the new style cell kit.

    Thanks.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    In-Ground SWG lagoon pool 29,000 gal., Jandy CL460 Filter, 2.0hp filter pump, 1.5hp waterfall pump, Paramount PV3 In-Floor cleaning sys., Aquapure 1400 Purelink SWG, manual wall cleaner (me).

  5. Back To Top    #5
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Replace old style Aquapure 2 port Cell with new style 3

    That shouldn't be too difficult. You will need to cut the existing cell and sensor out, trying to leave as much pipe as possible. It looks like you will have just enough left over to connect to. Then the new cell goes in more or less the same place, plus a little extra bit of pipe to get everything to come out the right length.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    10

    Re: Replace old style Aquapure 2 port Cell with new style 3

    Are the 2 cells the same diameter (I know the length is different)? Is there a recommended primer, glue for PVC pipe for pools using salt system? I am thinking about the kit sold by Pool Supply World since they seem to have the best price. It looks like it comes with everything, sensor, cell, and from the photo looks like you also get some pvc ends that would need to be mounted to my existing plumbing.
    In-Ground SWG lagoon pool 29,000 gal., Jandy CL460 Filter, 2.0hp filter pump, 1.5hp waterfall pump, Paramount PV3 In-Floor cleaning sys., Aquapure 1400 Purelink SWG, manual wall cleaner (me).

  7. Back To Top    #7
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Replace old style Aquapure 2 port Cell with new style 3

    You use standard PVC primer and cement rated for 2" schedule 40.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •