Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Results of just opened pool

1. Back To Top    #1

Results of just opened pool

Took cover off pool yesterday and water looked amazing. I topped off and allowed pump to run from 10pm last night to 830am this morning before I took my tests. Here are some of my results. I am waiting on my CYA test until my pool water reaches room temperature (Last year it was recommended that I wait to test CYA until pool water sample was at room temperature).

Please let me know what you think?

Pool temperature 60'F

FC 3.5
    CC 0
    PH 7.5
    TA 80 (I think this is a little low, but since I am kinda new to this ????)
    Calcium 140 ( I have a vinyl pool not sure on this either ???)

This is my 2nd year opening with the BBB method, I am still a newbie and I know last year I really didn't worry all that much about TA and calcium, I mostly monitored FC and CC every other day, and PH once a week?

Let me know what I should do next?
    I will post CYA results once I get them
    Thanks guys!
    Attached Images Attached Images
    21 ft Round Dough Boy
    3/4 horsepower Dough Boy PowerPak II pump
    Vinyl Liner
    baqua goo convert

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Results of just opened pool

Your numbers so far are fine!

With a vinyl liner you only need to worry about CH being too high, which yours isn't, so CH is good. The ideal TA depends on what you use to add chlorine. Unless you use trichlor tablets for chlorine, having TA around 80 is just fine. PH is perfect. FC is probably good, but it depends on the CYA level.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

3. Back To Top    #3

Thanks JasonLion

I use just store bought liquid bleach for my chlorine. Am I right to wait to test CYA until at room temp?