Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Liner type ?

1. Back To Top    #1

Liner type ?

I just picked up an 18 foot ABG poolsteel sided
    . The guy told me it was 16' but when i layed out the track it was 18.he also said i need a over lap liner. Im not sure what kind i need. I dont have a name of the pool either. All i know is it has the same track on the bottom as the top edge. I found this out as i was laying all for the bottom lol .
    ps ya im a newbie lol
    any help would be appreciated
    18' x 52" Intex steel frame pool
    1500 gph pool pump
    Kingston Ontario Canada

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Liner type ?

Overlap liner denotes how the liner fits over the top rail and is a pretty common style. It just folds over the top of the pool wall like a garbage bag over the top of the garbage can. Just go to your local pool store or search the internet for overlap liners and you'll find plenty.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

3. Back To Top    #3

Ya i did a bit of looking around on the net but found it hard to find. Does it sound like this is the liner i need ? SOunds like i need to lay the track then the walls then liner , put the top track on, then the verticals then the coping Then add water and cut out the skimmer and a way we go ....lol Sound about right?
    1500 gph pool pump
    Kingston Ontario Canada

4. Back To Top    #4

Here's a link with the sequence. This is an oval pool but the process is real close. The pictures at the end are worth a lot.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump

5. Back To Top    #5

that looks like the same set up as mine. What type of liner is that? Can I use either type of liner?