Opening the pool. Results are as follows:

FC- 0
    CC - 0
    TC - 0
    pH - 8.2
    T/A - 40
    CH - 140
    CYA - 20

I have a general understanding of the chemicals, but I'm not clear on how to lower my ph without raising TA. I've got the muriatic acid to add and the baking soda, but I'm not clear as to what to do when. I added the acid and it brought the ph down to normal levels, then I added bs to raise the TA, and it didn't change the TA at all, but sent the pH back up to 8.2. Not sure what to do now. Sorry, I'm a newbie at this.
    29,000 Gal
    Sand
    IG / Vinyl
    1.75 hp pump

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: High PH / Low Alkalinity battle

What are you using for chlorine?

What is the water temperature?

3. Back To Top    #3

Bring your pH down to 7.2 then add more Baking Soda to go up 10 ppm at a time. Rinse and repeat until you get your TA to where you want it. Go slow - no larger than steps of 10ppm and adjust your measurements if neede
    15,600 Gallon, 16' x 32' In-Ground Vinyl Pool
    Pentair VS 3050 pump, Quad DE 60 filter and SunTouch controller
    8 gallon Liquidator, Aquatherm EcoSun Solar Panels, 2 wheel ThePoolCleaner

4. Back To Top    #4

Adding acid lowers PH a lot and TA just a little. Adding baking soda raises PH just a little and TA a lot. Between the two of them you should be able to get everything just where you need it.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

5. Back To Top    #5

Using liquid bleach for chlorine. Haven't added any yet, as it was my understanding that I needed to get the ph in line before I did so.

Water temp is 68.

Thanks for the info. Sounds like I'm on the right track, just need to continue the process.

Should I add chlorine now, or wait for the pH and TA to be in line?
    29,000 Gal
    Sand
    IG / Vinyl