Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Starting a brand new pool

1. Back To Top    #1

Starting a brand new pool

I am fairly new to TFP and have been looking through the postings and haven't found anything on how to start up a brand new pool - only maintaining pools that have been "up and running." We used Bacquacil for a couple of years but are switching to chlorine this year. When we uncovered our pool this spring, tests showed that it has zero FC, CC, and CYA and pH and Alkalinity are in range. This is somewhat expected since no Bacquacil products have been put in the pool for several months and traditional chemicals have never been used.

I read Pool School and saw the info on switching from Bacquacil to chlorine, but I'm not sure if that applies since there is no Bacquacil in the pool anymore. It almost seems like it's starting a brand new pool.

The water's pretty clear. Should I get the CYA up to 50 or so, then go through the shock routine at the 10ppm level?

Thanks for any guidance. I love the info on this site. I'm looking forward to having more control over the pool this year and spending less money!
    Splash Pool (above ground)
    13x22 ft.
    8500 gal.
    American Products 22" Sand filter
    Hayward 1HP pump
    Taylor K-2006 test kit

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Starting a brand new pool

Hi, welcome to TFP! You will need to be able to test FC levels higher than 10 ppm to complete the shock process. If you are testing with strips they can be very inconsistent and the results are often unreliable. The Taylor K21006 or TF 100 are drop based kits which are more accurate and have all the tests you need to maintain your pool.