Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Aquarite generating 0 CL, but passes test

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Yorba Linda, CA
    Posts
    32

    Aquarite generating 0 CL, but passes test

    My T-CELL-15 has stopped generating CL. Yesterday, I ran it for 10 hours at 100%, and the CL level did not change.

    The cell is only a year old. I’ve had it tested at two different pool stores and it passed at both. I’ve cleaned the cell. The Aquarite diagnostics indicate 25.7 volts (a little high) and 5.97 amps while running.

    Chemistry: ph = 7.5, TA = 80, CYA = 70, salt = 3300, phosphates < 100. Pool temp = 66, outside temp = 68 and partially cloudy.

    I tried an overnight FC loss test (with an FAS test kit) and did not lose any CL. I measure 0 CC.

    I’m out of things to try. Any ideas would be appreciated.
    22k gallon in ground pebbletec, 2 hp WhisperFlo pump, Aqualink RS-6, Aquarite SWG, DE

  2. Back To Top    #2

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Central NJ
    Posts
    3,192

    Re: Aquarite generating 0 CL, but passes test

    How about stating your FC level.

    I'd say you might be combating a nascent bloom or the temp is bordering on it's ability to sense adequate salt.

    Scott
    Owner of - PoolGuyNJ LLC
    Expert Pool and Spa Repairs, Renovations, and Augmentation. Helping people decide what is the right gear for meeting their needs. Expectations Set, Expectations Met, No Surprises.

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Yorba Linda, CA
    Posts
    32

    Re: Aquarite generating 0 CL, but passes test

    FC is 2.5 ppm, CC is 0.

    I really don't think it has anything to do with temperature. The cell has worked fine for a year at a range of 50-85 degrees water temperature.

    BTW, even though nobody is using the pool yet, we normally have a high "bio" load this time of year. I usually find 2-3 rodents (mice, gophers, and the occassional mole) floating in the pool each morning (the world's most expensive mouse trap!). They're scooped out each morning, so I have a hard time believing that these "organic contaminants" are somehow consuming all the CL.
    22k gallon in ground pebbletec, 2 hp WhisperFlo pump, Aqualink RS-6, Aquarite SWG, DE

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Mod Squad zea3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    9,202

    Re: Aquarite generating 0 CL, but passes test

    Are you currently adding FC to the pool another way? Was the SWG turned off during the overnight test?
    TFP Moderator
    Helpful links: TF Test Kits,TFP Pool School, PoolMath
    Vogue 21' round AG, Pentair 1 hp 2 speed pump, 36 sq ft DE filter, Hayward S180T 150# sand filter, Houston, Texas
    Love TFP? Become a
    TFP Supporter!

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Yorba Linda, CA
    Posts
    32

    Re: Aquarite generating 0 CL, but passes test

    The FC was 0. I added a 1/2 gallon of 10% CL to get to 2.5 ppm. The SWG was off during the overnight FC test.
    22k gallon in ground pebbletec, 2 hp WhisperFlo pump, Aqualink RS-6, Aquarite SWG, DE

  6. Back To Top    #6
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Aquarite generating 0 CL, but passes test

    Try turning the swg up to 100%, openning up the union on the output side of the cell just enough to get a small stream of water, and measure the FC level of that water.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Yorba Linda, CA
    Posts
    32

    Re: Aquarite generating 0 CL, but passes test

    I sampled the water right at the output side of the SWG cell. The CL reading was exactly the same (2.5 ppm) as taking the reading from the pool. I take it that confirms that the cell really isn't generating any CL? FYI, I see the hydrogen bubbles at the pool inlets. I thought that meant CL was being generated?
    22k gallon in ground pebbletec, 2 hp WhisperFlo pump, Aqualink RS-6, Aquarite SWG, DE

  8. Back To Top    #8
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Aquarite generating 0 CL, but passes test

    That is very curious. Bubbles almost invariably mean it is working. Is there any chance your FC testing is wrong, expired reagent or something?
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Yorba Linda, CA
    Posts
    32

    Re: Aquarite generating 0 CL, but passes test

    Hi Jason,

    I'm using both a Taylor FAS-DPD and a standard Taylor DPD test kit. Both are about a year old.

    The FAS kit has always measured almost double what the standard DPD test kit does. I've posted about this before but have never gotten a definitive answer why. Right now the std test measures 2.5 ppm, and the FAS test measures 5.0 ppm. When I take a sample to the pool store, they do a std test and get the same 2.5 ppm reading.

    When I do the FAS test, I put 10 ml of pool water in the vial, add 2 level scoops of the powder, and then add drops until the pink turns to clear, and multiply drops times .5 ppm.

    Regardless of the difference in values between the two test kits, both measure exactly the same level of CL at the output side of the cell and from the pool, e.g., the FAS test measures 5.0 both places, and the std test measures 2.5 both places.

    Thanks for your help.
    22k gallon in ground pebbletec, 2 hp WhisperFlo pump, Aqualink RS-6, Aquarite SWG, DE

  10. Back To Top    #10
    Mod Squad zea3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    9,202

    Re: Aquarite generating 0 CL, but passes test

    Have you tried the FAS test with just 1 scoop of powder? You should only need 2 scoops if the FC is very high.
    TFP Moderator
    Helpful links: TF Test Kits,TFP Pool School, PoolMath
    Vogue 21' round AG, Pentair 1 hp 2 speed pump, 36 sq ft DE filter, Hayward S180T 150# sand filter, Houston, Texas
    Love TFP? Become a
    TFP Supporter!

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Re: Aquarite generating 0 CL, but passes test

    Quote Originally Posted by hsmyers
    The Aquarite diagnostics indicate 25.7 volts (a little high) and 5.97 amps while running.
    If you're using voltage and current, that means that the cell has to be doing something with that power. If the cell is not getting hot, then it is almost definitely making chlorine.
    Quote Originally Posted by hsmyers
    I sampled the water right at the output side of the SWG cell.
    Are you sure that it was the output side and not the input side? Try getting a sample from the return while the cell is on.
    Quote Originally Posted by hsmyers
    Chemistry: ph = 7.5, TA = 80, CYA = 70, salt = 3300, phosphates < 100. Pool temp = 66, outside temp = 68 and partially cloudy.
    What is your calcium level?
    Quote Originally Posted by hsmyers
    The FAS kit has always measured almost double what the standard DPD test kit does.
    Are you using R-0871 or R-0872?

  12. Back To Top    #12

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Yorba Linda, CA
    Posts
    32

    Re: Aquarite generating 0 CL, but passes test

    R-871. Yes, I'm sure I took the sample from the output side of the cell.

    We're talking about a cell that was working fine and then just stopped generating any CL at all. I can take another sample to the pool store to test for calcium, but I doubt that's going to be the problem
    22k gallon in ground pebbletec, 2 hp WhisperFlo pump, Aqualink RS-6, Aquarite SWG, DE

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •