Installing conduit for a pool light

Simbilis

LifeTime Supporter
Aug 13, 2010
The ground has unfrozen, and it's time to finish the electrical hookup for my pool. I spent the winter reading NEC 680, so I'm an expert on this now and nothing can possibly go wrong...

The builder ran 1 1/4" PVC conduit from the pool light shell. The end of the conduit is now sticking out of the earth backfill, tightly taped closed with the wiring running out to a coil on the ground. I had planned to re-bury the conduit 18" deep and attach more conduit to extend it to a junction box on a post. Trouble is, the wiring shouldn't have been installed until the conduit run was completed, to prevent getting PVC solvent on the insulation.

Is there a usual way to finish the conduit run? My default approach is to just be really careful with the PVC solvent.

Thanks,

Sim

I don't know what your layout is, just remember that you don't want that junction box too far from the pool. You will need to be able to pull the light cable through it every time you change the fixture.

If you are moving the junction box, pull the cable out first. You can either replace the cable with a string now, or fish it later when it is complete. Then pull the cable through again when everything is in place.

I wish I had done a conduit like this when they installed my pool. All they did was put 90 degree straight up PVC that goes above water level and then run the wires in the sand which is then covered by concrete all the way to my shed which is at the end of the pool. There's no way for me to fish a wire if something goes wrong.

Simbilis - I would have don it the same way that you suggested. I would probably wrap the electrical cable where the PVC joints will be to help guard the cable against the glue. Don't put to much that it would bind inside the pipe should you ever have to replace the light.

Just-a-PB said:
Just pull the wires out, and repull them in after you have it finished.