Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: POOL CLORINATOR INSTALLATION MAIN PUMP REPLACEMENT?

1. Back To Top    #1

POOL CLORINATOR INSTALLATION MAIN PUMP REPLACEMENT?

Hello Friends,

I hope everything is going good for you! I just bought a new 40k Aqua Rite Chorine generator for my 28k capacity pool. Since I have very little experience with pools and service, I wanted to ask if I need to replace my 8 year old 1.5HP single speed pump. The budget is tight but I need to take care of the pool properly even if impacts my bottom line. Also I was strongly considering buying a multispeed four speed pump from Pentair.
    Please advice,
    George
    22k plaster pool kidney shape. Pentair 4000 de series 48 ft. 2 SKIMMERS, 2 drains (pool and spa), 3 returns (2 pool and 1 spa) gas heater and pentair intelliflow , Underwater pentair light.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: POOL CLORINATOR INSTALLATION MAIN PUMP REPLACEMENT?

Don't fix it if it ain't broke is a good motto.
    16x32x52" Steel Cornelius Miramar AGP Vinyl liner 13,100 gal. Buried 2 ft.
    2 Speed Hayward Power-Flo Matrix 85 g.p.m. 22" 250lb. sand filter hard plumbed
    Pool Rover Jr., Pool Blaster Max, Diver Dave TF100 Test Kit/Speed Stir
    Margaritaville Frozen Concoction Maker, Liqour Chiller, & Drink Mixer & Party Tub----Collect 'um all!

3. Back To Top    #3

Quote Originally Posted by woodyp
    Don't fix it if it ain't broke is a good motto.
    That is an excellent quote! I was wondering if the need to create chlorine will also increase the running time of my pump. The more time the pump runs, the higher electric bill will be? My current pump is not a very energy efficient model.

Thank you for posting,
    George
    22k plaster pool kidney shape. Pentair 4000 de series 48 ft. 2 SKIMMERS, 2 drains (pool and spa), 3 returns (2 pool and 1 spa) gas heater and pentair intelliflow , Underwater pentair light.

4. Back To Top    #4