Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Adding Salt

1. Back To Top    #1

Adding Salt

Today I added about 1/2 bag of salt to my SWG pool. It was below 3,000 and I wanted to raise it a little. After I added the salt, I did not turn off the SWG. I just read that I was suppose to leave on the filter but turn off the SWG. What type of problems might I have because I didn't turn off the SWG. Should I turn it off now? If so, for how long?

I am still learning about maintaining my pool.

Thanks for your help!!
    East TN
    13,000 gal San Juan Fiberglass Pool;SWG; GoldLine Pro Logic Controls
    Hayward Sand Filter; Hayward Max-Flo XL Pump;Polaris 380; Hayward ColorLogic LED
    Raypak Gas Heater

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Adding Salt

As long as you didn't add your salt directly to the skimmer, but instead added it to the bulk pool water with sufficient mixing (i.e. not just getting into a floor drain), then there should be no problem. The reason they say to turn off the SWG is to prevent any concentrated salt water from causing the SWG from burning out due to excessively high water conductivity and therefore current through the SWG.
    16,000 gallon outdoor in-ground 16'x32' plaster pool; Pentair Intelliflo VF pump; Pentair IntelliTouch i9+3s control system; Jandy CL-340 square foot cartridge filter
    12 Fafco solar panels; Purex Triton PowerMax 250 natural gas heater (200,000 BTU/hr output); automatic electric pool safety cover; 4-wheel pressure-side "The Pool Cleaner"

3. Back To Top    #3

Thank you so much!! I feel so much better. I added my salt throughout the pool not in the skimmer. Would you still recommend that next time I add salt that I turn the SWG off for a few hours?

Thanks!!
    East TN
    13,000 gal San Juan Fiberglass Pool;SWG; GoldLine Pro Logic Controls
    Hayward Sand Filter; Hayward Max-Flo XL Pump;Polaris 380; Hayward ColorLogic LED
    Raypak Gas Heater

4. Back To Top    #4

5. Back To Top    #5