Become a TFP Supporter Welcome to our new server and new forum software. Pool School
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Is the Polaris in-line filter necessary?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    60

    Is the Polaris in-line filter necessary?

    When we moved in to the house I didn't know anything about pools. (I've learned a lot since then, thanks to TFP!) I was recently looking at the schematics for the Polaris 380 and noticed the in-line filter (http://www.poolproducts4less.com/Polari ... 8-080.aspx). My Polaris has never had this part and I've never had a clogging problem. It seems the filter in the Quick Disconnect does the job and this extra part is unnecessary. It's not cheap and neither are the replacement filters. It's also something else that can get clogged easily and decrease the performance of the Polaris (since it seems to filter fine particles that wouldn't otherwise clog the Polaris jets). Any opinions?
    26K IG plaster pool, 2 Baker Hydro Skimmers (Model HS), 4 return jets (one plumbed with a PoolSkim surface cleaner), Hayward 1.5 6-way Multiport Valve (Sp710x-All), Polaris 380 w/ Polaris PB4-60Q Halcyon 3/4 HP Booster Pump, Pentair SuperFlo 1.5 HP (1.65 SFHP) Two Speed Pump (SF-N2-1-1/2A), Stainless Steel Hayward vertical DE 36ft2 filter (Duralon tank model DE3600), Purex CHD Pool Star light, 2 Intermatic mechanical time switches controlling the filter pump and booster pump, Hasa 8 gallon 3/8" Pool Liquidator Chlorinator, 1.5" return line with 3 x 1.5" suction lines, Austin, TX

  2. #2
    Administrator JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    34,969

    Re: Is the Polaris in-line filter necessary?

    That filter is handy sometimes, but hardly necessary. If everything is setup correctly there shouldn't be anything in the line for it to filter out. If, for some reason, you are getting debris in the line reguarly the filter is invaluable, otherwise skip it.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    TFP Admin. Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  3. #3
    Senior Member taekwondodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    420

    Re: Is the Polaris in-line filter necessary?

    On the 280s/380s, my recommendation is to leave it there - if it's not getting anything in it, it doesn't affect flow. If it is, it's preventing the jets in the Polaris from clogging up - which are a real pain to clear. On the 360s, the holes on the jets are much larger and more difficult to clog, so I always pull the screen out.

    My $0.002.

    - Jeff
    ~45Kg Pool with attached Spa, NSP-72 DE, Minmax 400 Heater, Tahoe Blue Pebbletech, Jandy SWG via Aqualink RS-8, The Pool Cleaner (black)
    Pumps: X3 Hybrid Pump (switches to SPA), 2HP Spa (additional, when SPA is on), and a 1HP For Waterfall
    8, 4x12 Solar Panels on the roof of the pool-house (~12' up)
    CAPTAIN JAMES T. KIRK: "I'M SORRY. I CAN'T HEAR YOU OVER THE SOUND OF HOW AWESOME I AM" (Thanks to TFP!)

  4. #4
    Senior Member In the Industry

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    near the swamp
    Posts
    788

    Re: Is the Polaris in-line filter necessary?

    Quote Originally Posted by taekwondodo
    On the 280s/380s, my recommendation is to leave it there - if it's not getting anything in it, it doesn't affect flow. If it is, it's preventing the jets in the Polaris from clogging up - which are a real pain to clear. On the 360s, the holes on the jets are much larger and more difficult to clog, so I always pull the screen out.

    My $0.002.

    - Jeff
    THIS! Though I say leave it in there reguardless of the model.

  5. #5
    Senior Member taekwondodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    420

    Re: Is the Polaris in-line filter necessary?

    The reason I take it out on 360s, is because most of them in our area are plumbed behind the Jandy Energy Filter, just south of the pump - bypassing/before the main filter. The JEFs let a lot of very fine material through which clog up the 360 screens a lot... so if I don't pull them, the sweep shuts down because of the clogged filter and I show up to a "less than clean" pool.

    I've never had a 360 problem with out the screen because the holes are ~3/16" and all the fine material blows right into the bag.

    280s and 38s without the screen however, are just asking for their 1/16" hole to get plugged - and that's a real pain to clean as you have to disassemble the cleaner, clear the holes, and then flush water backwards through them.
    ~45Kg Pool with attached Spa, NSP-72 DE, Minmax 400 Heater, Tahoe Blue Pebbletech, Jandy SWG via Aqualink RS-8, The Pool Cleaner (black)
    Pumps: X3 Hybrid Pump (switches to SPA), 2HP Spa (additional, when SPA is on), and a 1HP For Waterfall
    8, 4x12 Solar Panels on the roof of the pool-house (~12' up)
    CAPTAIN JAMES T. KIRK: "I'M SORRY. I CAN'T HEAR YOU OVER THE SOUND OF HOW AWESOME I AM" (Thanks to TFP!)

  6. #6
    Senior Member In the Industry
    JoshU's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    New Orleans, LA
    Posts
    474

    Re: Is the Polaris in-line filter necessary?

    I would have one or the other in there for sure. If you have the filter installed in the wall fitting there is no reason for the in-line screen and vice versa. The wall fitting screen is just the older way of doing it. All new Polaris units have the in-line screen.
    Josh Ulfers - TFP Supporting Vendor - josh@saltpoolguys.com - 888-725-8766
    SaltPoolGuys.com - AutoPilot Pool Pilot Systems, Parts & Cells
    PoolHeatPumpWarehouse.com - AquaCal Heat Pumps

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    1

    Re: Is the Polaris in-line filter necessary?

    I have a 360 and apparently there is no 'in-hose' filter available. I had to remove the filter in the pool wall since I am no longer able to get down to clean it (or to be more specific, get up again). The other day, my 360 stopped working, the jets were plugged with debris. How all that stuff gets passed the Energy Filter is beyond me, but it happens. Does anyone have any ideas how I can kludge up an in-hose filter for the 360?
    In Build Phase:
    27' x 52" Above Ground Pool
    Pentair Dynamo 3/4hp 2-Speed Pump
    Pool Pilot Digital Nano RC-35 Cell SWG

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •