Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: how to replace a main pool drain

1. Back To Top    #1

how to replace a main pool drain

heya all, I'm a newbie here, great forum. We came home from vacation to find our 50 yr old pool empty due to a hole in the drain right next to the pipe fitting. Could have plugged it w/ hydraulic cement and refilled the pool but no, I decided to undertake most of a complete re-mod myself. I've already removed tile and under cut 1 1/2 wide groove below them, knocked out all the hollow spots, and under cut the light. I also plan to replace / install: skimmer, jets, Led lighting, wall benches and filtration to include a salt system to be discussed later.

Here's my plan for the drain:
    Chip aprox 2' wide hole around current drain keeping as much rebar as possible in place.
    Cut back the old pvc line, apply pvc thread compound to threaded fitting of new plastic drain and threaded male end of new pvc connector, prime & glue to existing pipe.
    Tie or weld in new re bar to old and or drill in new rebar making sure to clean holes and dry before installing rebar w/ epoxie.
    Fill excessive void under pool w/ pea gravel.
    Apply two part SGM Bond Kote to old cement
    Pour high strength concrete and trowel allowing room for the diamond brite finish.

I only want to do this once so does this plan sound about right or did I forget something? All tips welcome.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: how to replace a main pool drain

That sounds about right. The main thing is to be sure you mount the drain fixture at the right height, so it will line up with the finished pool surface.

It might be simpler if you kept all of your questions in one topic. It is much more difficult for us to remember what we have already told you when similar questions are spread out across several topics.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot