Mar 28, 2011
Space Coast, Florida
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
CircuPool RJ-45 Plus
I would very much like to convert my copper/silver ion generator system to SWCG.

Part of my job is designing guardrail safety fixtures for highways, so I am very familiar with the effects of salt, chlorine, and moisture on steel (even galvanized or stainless steel). My main concern is for the rebar in my concrete/plaster pool. With concrete being essentially porous, should I be concerned? I know that 3,000 ppm is not much compared to the ocean, but with the presence of chlorine it can still cause or accelerate stress corrosion cracking (as far as the rebar goes-though I have limited knowledge of concrete, so I am not sure if this should be a concern). I am also slightly concerned about the tile and the plaster itself. Since it is an indoor pool, I am also slightly concerned about the metal pieces of the HVAC system (ducting, heat exchanger).

Can anyone ease my mind or contribute some personal experience or technical knowledge? Is corrosion increased over pool water with chlorine only? If so approximately how much or how big of a risk is it?

The steel should be near the outside of the shell. The plaster finish is the water proofer. The bond wire will, in most cases dissipate any stray currents but adding a zinc anode after the cell and attaching it to the bonding wire is neither difficult and will absolutely minimize any strays from the cell.

Calcium chloride is a different salt than sodium chloride and tends to be more reactive. The salt spray from melting ice of a road mix used for de-icing use can be substantially higher in concentration too and since it doesn't get washed off, sticks around more on guard rails and sign posts, compound that set of issues.

The scale of the faced challenges is substantially lessened in a pool.

The stainless used in pools is typically a high grade and very resistant to rust.