Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Chlorination Issue in new pool

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    200

    Chlorination Issue in new pool

    Everything is up an running now - but we're finding that the puck based chlorinator (rainbow 320) is not working at low flow rates <40GPM. The chamber is not getting flooded, and it seems to be letting air in the system. Any thoughts on a better solution? (It's not likely I am going to convince the PB to install at liquidator).

    Picture of how it's setup now:
    38K Gallons IG, Intelliflow VS-SVRS, 30GPM 24/7, 72sqft DE Filter, Spectralight UV, Jandy C1900 driving Liquid Chlorine and Acid (toys, I know..), Jandy LXi gas heater, Aquacal SQ175 Heatpump, Riverflow Competition swimmer, Jandy automation, Touch and iAqualink, Pebblesheen | The Build

  2. Back To Top    #2
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Chlorination Issue in new pool

    It sounds like it is either installed incorrectly or is defective. Since the pool is new, you should have the builder come out and fix it.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Re: Chlorination Issue in new pool

    The water has two other paths it can take instead of going through the pipe that the chlorinator is attached to. This can cause there to be less water flow than necessary for the chlorinator to operate.

    I would also caution you that it is not a good idea to use trichlor as your primary source of chlorine.

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    200

    Re: Chlorination Issue in new pool

    Quote Originally Posted by JasonLion
    It sounds like it is either installed incorrectly or is defective. Since the pool is new, you should have the builder come out and fix it.
    They plan to, but don't have experience with low flow rate systems. Does seem like the unit is defective to me though.
    38K Gallons IG, Intelliflow VS-SVRS, 30GPM 24/7, 72sqft DE Filter, Spectralight UV, Jandy C1900 driving Liquid Chlorine and Acid (toys, I know..), Jandy LXi gas heater, Aquacal SQ175 Heatpump, Riverflow Competition swimmer, Jandy automation, Touch and iAqualink, Pebblesheen | The Build

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    200

    Re: Chlorination Issue in new pool

    Quote Originally Posted by JamesW
    The water has two other paths it can take instead of going through the pipe that the chlorinator is attached to. This can cause there to be less water flow than necessary for the chlorinator to operate.

    I would also caution you that it is not a good idea to use trichlor as your primary source of chlorine.
    Are you referring to the CYA buildup caused by trichlor?

    Do you know if the liquidator works with lower flow rates? My assume is yes, but the data is hard to find - may be a question for that forum instead. Jason - I'm cool with moving this thread to the Liquidator section.
    Moved, as requested. JasonLion
    38K Gallons IG, Intelliflow VS-SVRS, 30GPM 24/7, 72sqft DE Filter, Spectralight UV, Jandy C1900 driving Liquid Chlorine and Acid (toys, I know..), Jandy LXi gas heater, Aquacal SQ175 Heatpump, Riverflow Competition swimmer, Jandy automation, Touch and iAqualink, Pebblesheen | The Build

  6. Back To Top    #6
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,345

    Re: Chlorination Issue in new pool

    Yes, the liquidator will work at very low flow rates. The only requirement is that the pump creates some negative head so it'll draw the chlorine out of the LQ. Even if it creates almost no negative head there are a few ways of overcoming that. A venturi tee or connecting the LQ out line to the pump drain plug port.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    200

    Re: Chlorination Issue in new pool

    Quote Originally Posted by Bama Rambler
    Yes, the liquidator will work at very low flow rates. The only requirement is that the pump creates some negative head so it'll draw the chlorine out of the LQ. Even if it creates almost no negative head there are a few ways of overcoming that. A venturi tee or connecting the LQ out line to the pump drain plug port.
    Alright, I have one on order. I've been lucky - the pool has been seriously low on chlorine for a couple weeks - the UV unit seems to be helping keep the algae at bay.
    38K Gallons IG, Intelliflow VS-SVRS, 30GPM 24/7, 72sqft DE Filter, Spectralight UV, Jandy C1900 driving Liquid Chlorine and Acid (toys, I know..), Jandy LXi gas heater, Aquacal SQ175 Heatpump, Riverflow Competition swimmer, Jandy automation, Touch and iAqualink, Pebblesheen | The Build

  8. Back To Top    #8
    Mod Squad woodyp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    East Texas
    Posts
    8,997

    Re: Chlorination Issue in new pool

    Nice looking setup-----------almost looks like a nuclear facility!
    16x32x52" Steel Cornelius Miramar AGP Vinyl liner 13,100 gal. Buried 2 ft.
    2 Speed Hayward Power-Flo Matrix 85 g.p.m. 22" 250lb. sand filter hard plumbed
    Pool Rover Jr., Pool Blaster Max, Diver Dave TF100 Test Kit/Speed Stir
    Margaritaville Frozen Concoction Maker, Liqour Chiller, & Drink Mixer & Party Tub----Collect 'um all!

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    200

    Re: Chlorination Issue in new pool

    Quote Originally Posted by woodyp
    Nice looking setup-----------almost looks like a nuclear facility!
    Yeah, in the end it may have been easier to run three bodies of water with three pumps instead of one VSP. Had to use 6 actuators...
    38K Gallons IG, Intelliflow VS-SVRS, 30GPM 24/7, 72sqft DE Filter, Spectralight UV, Jandy C1900 driving Liquid Chlorine and Acid (toys, I know..), Jandy LXi gas heater, Aquacal SQ175 Heatpump, Riverflow Competition swimmer, Jandy automation, Touch and iAqualink, Pebblesheen | The Build

  10. Back To Top    #10

    In the Industry

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    441

    Re: Chlorination Issue in new pool

    Quote Originally Posted by shakenbake
    Quote Originally Posted by woodyp
    Nice looking setup-----------almost looks like a nuclear facility!
    Yeah, in the end it may have been easier to run three bodies of water with three pumps instead of one VSP. Had to use 6 actuators...
    I'm not a real big fan of the swing check valve being installed on its side like that. Typically its best to have the swing direction to work with gravity.
    20X40 30,000 gallon gunite pool

  11. Back To Top    #11

    In the Industry

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    441

    Re: Chlorination Issue in new pool

    Quote Originally Posted by shakenbake
    Quote Originally Posted by woodyp
    Nice looking setup-----------almost looks like a nuclear facility!
    Yeah, in the end it may have been easier to run three bodies of water with three pumps instead of one VSP. Had to use 6 actuators...

    Why 6? Are you trying to maintain 3 different temperatures?

    Pool/spa/wader

    Should only need 2-3
    20X40 30,000 gallon gunite pool

  12. Back To Top    #12

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    200

    Re: Chlorination Issue in new pool

    Quote Originally Posted by racket
    Quote Originally Posted by shakenbake
    Quote Originally Posted by woodyp
    Nice looking setup-----------almost looks like a nuclear facility!
    Yeah, in the end it may have been easier to run three bodies of water with three pumps instead of one VSP. Had to use 6 actuators...

    Why 6? Are you trying to maintain 3 different temperatures?

    Pool/spa/wader

    Should only need 2-3
    1) Pool/Spa return
    2) Pool/Spa drain
    3) Heat-pump only (running low flow rates, we're getting the best flow out of parrallel gas/heat pump circuit, but I shunt all flow through heat pump when I use it to get best flow at lowest power)
    4) Fountains on/off
    5) Chiller returns on/off
    6) Kiddie/Spa drain (lets us heat both spa and kiddie pool)
    7) (possibly will add) Fountain via spa circuit when spa on (kids asking for it)

    38K Gallons IG, Intelliflow VS-SVRS, 30GPM 24/7, 72sqft DE Filter, Spectralight UV, Jandy C1900 driving Liquid Chlorine and Acid (toys, I know..), Jandy LXi gas heater, Aquacal SQ175 Heatpump, Riverflow Competition swimmer, Jandy automation, Touch and iAqualink, Pebblesheen | The Build

  13. Back To Top    #13

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Ottawa, ON, Canada
    Posts
    153

    Re: Chlorination Issue in new pool

    Quote Originally Posted by shakenbake
    1) Pool/Spa return
    2) Pool/Spa drain
    3) Heat-pump only (running low flow rates, we're getting the best flow out of parrallel gas/heat pump circuit, but I shunt all flow through heat pump when I use it to get best flow at lowest power)
    4) Fountains on/off
    5) Chiller returns on/off
    6) Kiddie/Spa drain (lets us heat both spa and kiddie pool)
    7) (possibly will add) Fountain via spa circuit when spa on (kids asking for it)

    Ah man. you missed a perfect opportunity. You should really have added something like "torus", "primary containment vessel", used rods pool, ..
    19.5k gallons in ground, P4 panel with turbocell SWG, 1hp Hayward superpump II, sand filter, Heater low nox 250k btu heater, solar cover on rocky roller

  14. Back To Top    #14
    frustratedpoolmom's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    SWSuburban Chicago, IL
    Posts
    11,965

    Re: Chlorination Issue in new pool

    Quote Originally Posted by shakenbake
    Quote Originally Posted by JamesW
    The water has two other paths it can take instead of going through the pipe that the chlorinator is attached to. This can cause there to be less water flow than necessary for the chlorinator to operate.

    I would also caution you that it is not a good idea to use trichlor as your primary source of chlorine.
    Are you referring to the CYA buildup caused by trichlor?

    Do you know if the liquidator works with lower flow rates? My assume is yes, but the data is hard to find - may be a question for that forum instead. Jason - I'm cool with moving this thread to the Liquidator section.
    Moved, as requested. JasonLion
    Many people use trichlor - as long as you understand WHAT it is and WHAT it puts in your pool, and how to correctly deal with the effects of using trichlor. It's also slightly more expensive, but convenient. It's a personal choice, really. If it's its simply a matter of a defective unit and you want to keep using it, the choice is your's. You just have to monitor your levels and keep the PH/TA in check.
    Helpful links: Pool School; CYA/Chlorine Chart
    24' round AG pool, 52" high, Raypak heater; Waterway 2 spd Pump;
    150 Sq ft. Clearwater Cartridge Filter; Former and DISSATISFIED "Pool Frog" owner
    http://www.PerfectlyClearPoolService.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •