Feeling pressured about fiberglass pool selection. Need help

We would like a basic pool. One company has gotten good recommendations from a friend who has one of their liner pools. We met with him Friday and he proposed the following:

Trilogy Solstice $22,900 or Orion $28,900 basic package
Upgrades:
Max-E-Pro 1.5 HP 2 speed $400
Sta-Rite System 3 300sf media $500
Intellichlor IC20 $1250
PBVC 2" $200

This does not include electrician costs.

The upgrades will get a 40% discount. They just had a home show and he stated that until this Wednesday, he can get an additional discount on the pool to save $3,000 on the Solstice and $2,000 for the Orion.

After reading posts here he had initially proposed the IC15 but I would upsize to the IC20. I'm also wondering if an Intelliflo pump wouldn't be a good idea. It looks like it would pay for itself in about 4 years.

I had a large chlorine based pool previously but I am new to salt based. The convenience is appealing.

What are your thoughts on these recommendations? Is this a good package? Is the pricing reasonable?

Re: Feeling pressured about fiberglass pool selection. Need

Welcome to TFP!

Those upgrades generally look nice, but over-priced, while the basic package price price is lower than I would expect.

The IntelliFlo payback depends on what your electric rates are. Where I am on the east coast the electric rates are around $0.12/kwh and the extra up front costs will never pay back. But in most of California, and other areas with high electric rates, it will pay back quickly.

Don't ya just hate the:

"Super Sale Price only good thru Sunday"

sales BS. If you can sell me something for $100 this weekend, you should be able to sell me the same thing next week for the same price. It's just as bad as the:

"Inventory Reduction Sale, Everything up to 50% Off"

that seems to happen every other week (especially furniture places).