Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Trouble shooting 2-speed motor

  1. Back To Top    #1
    JTKen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Central Texas
    Posts
    25

    Trouble shooting 2-speed motor

    Hey folks, hope everyone is doing well, it's warming up here is Texas and the kids are almost ready to start swimming again.

    Months ago, I let the pool sit for a few days and when I started the pump, it ran fine on low, but pops the circuit breaker when I switch it to high. So I'm wondering if I should change out the Circuit breaker or replace the pump? Do 2-speed pumps go out this way where the low works and the high doesn't? I'm prepared to change out the motor if necessary, but if I should try something else please let me know. Oh and is changing out a motor something a "do it your selfer" should attempt?

    As always thank you for the help.
    7,287 Gallons, IG Gunnite Pool/Spa, Cartridge, Polaris 380

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Ohm_Boy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    1,344

    Re: Trouble shooting 2-speed motor

    Kinda sounds like the motor to me.
    [center:1kpalu48]Helpful Links: Pool School | CYA/Chlorine Chart | Pool Calculator[/center:1kpalu48]

  3. Back To Top    #3
    mas985's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Pleasanton, CA
    Posts
    11,489

    Re: Trouble shooting 2-speed motor

    Most two speed motors use a single tapped winding so if the winding was shorted, it should be shorted on both low and high settings. However, it could be a couple of other things such as a bad switch, relay or run capacitor all of which can be fixed without changing the motor.

    What model pump/motor do you have?

    Are you using relays to switch between low and high?
    Mark
    Hydraulics 101; Pump Ed 101; Pump/Pool Spreadsheets; Pump Run Time Study; DIY Acid Dosing; DIY Cover Roller
    18'x36' 20k plaster, MaxFlo SP2303VSP, Aqualogic PS8 SWCG, 420 sq-ft Cartridge, Solar, 6 jet spa, 1 HP jet pump, 400k BTU NG Heater

  4. Back To Top    #4
    JTKen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Central Texas
    Posts
    25

    Re: Trouble shooting 2-speed motor

    Quote Originally Posted by mas985
    What model pump/motor do you have?

    Are you using relays to switch between low and high?
    Thank you for the help, there's a timer box that bypasses the toggle switch on the back of the motor. I'm not sure the brand of the motor, here's a pic of whats left.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    7,287 Gallons, IG Gunnite Pool/Spa, Cartridge, Polaris 380

  5. Back To Top    #5
    mas985's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Pleasanton, CA
    Posts
    11,489

    Re: Trouble shooting 2-speed motor

    What sort of timer box are you using? Is it a two speed timer or other type of controller?

    If the low speed switch is not disconnecting low speed when high speed is switched on, the circuit breaker will trip.

    If the timer switches are working properly, then it could be the capacitor. That motor uses a permanent capacitor that can be replaced.
    Mark
    Hydraulics 101; Pump Ed 101; Pump/Pool Spreadsheets; Pump Run Time Study; DIY Acid Dosing; DIY Cover Roller
    18'x36' 20k plaster, MaxFlo SP2303VSP, Aqualogic PS8 SWCG, 420 sq-ft Cartridge, Solar, 6 jet spa, 1 HP jet pump, 400k BTU NG Heater

  6. Back To Top    #6
    JTKen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Central Texas
    Posts
    25

    Re: Trouble shooting 2-speed motor

    Quote Originally Posted by mas985
    What sort of timer box are you using? Is it a two speed timer or other type of controller?

    If the low speed switch is not disconnecting low speed when high speed is switched on, the circuit breaker will trip.

    If the timer switches are working properly, then it could be the capacitor. That motor uses a permanent capacitor that can be replaced.
    The timer switches it from low to high (the off switch is located elsewhere) I haven't opened it up to check the wires are secured I guess it's possible something worked loose?
    Attached Images Attached Images
    7,287 Gallons, IG Gunnite Pool/Spa, Cartridge, Polaris 380

  7. Back To Top    #7
    mas985's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Pleasanton, CA
    Posts
    11,489

    Re: Trouble shooting 2-speed motor

    The problem could be in the timer if one of the poles is stuck and not disconnecting low speed when high speed is turned on. If you are experienced working with electricity, you could try to disconnect the low speed wire and see if high speed will then work but again, only if you know how to do it safely (i.e. shut power off first).
    Mark
    Hydraulics 101; Pump Ed 101; Pump/Pool Spreadsheets; Pump Run Time Study; DIY Acid Dosing; DIY Cover Roller
    18'x36' 20k plaster, MaxFlo SP2303VSP, Aqualogic PS8 SWCG, 420 sq-ft Cartridge, Solar, 6 jet spa, 1 HP jet pump, 400k BTU NG Heater

  8. Back To Top    #8
    JTKen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Central Texas
    Posts
    25

    Re: Trouble shooting 2-speed motor

    Quote Originally Posted by mas985
    The problem could be in the timer if one of the poles is stuck and not disconnecting low speed when high speed is turned on. If you are experienced working with electricity, you could try to disconnect the low speed wire and see if high speed will then work but again, only if you know how to do it safely (i.e. shut power off first).
    Thanks, that gives me something feasible I can try, I'm a formal avionics guy so I should be able to check it out without hurting myself. I'm across town this week, but I'll be able to make it home this weekend and give it a try disconnecting the low. I'll report back the results.
    7,287 Gallons, IG Gunnite Pool/Spa, Cartridge, Polaris 380

  9. Back To Top    #9
    JTKen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Central Texas
    Posts
    25

    Re: Trouble shooting 2-speed motor

    Well I'm back

    I separated the high-switch, here's what happened.

    1. The Circuit breaker on the house is not popping anymore.
    2. When turning the motor on high, it would run for a second, then cutoff. After about a minute the motor clicks (CB or relay) then you can turn the motor on again and it does the same thing, cutting off after a second.
    3. Now when the pump runs on low, it cuts off after about an hour, I have to wait about 10 minutes before I can turn it on again.

    I'll be back home for good next weekend, perhaps then I can get it fixed for good. I sure hope, ity's warming up here and the pool is getting harder to keep clean.
    7,287 Gallons, IG Gunnite Pool/Spa, Cartridge, Polaris 380

  10. Back To Top    #10
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,347

    Re: Trouble shooting 2-speed motor

    Sounds like bad windings to me. internally shorted windings would cause high amp draw and the symptoms you are describing.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  11. Back To Top    #11
    mas985's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Pleasanton, CA
    Posts
    11,489

    Re: Trouble shooting 2-speed motor

    It almost sounds like the thermal limiter is switching the motor off. It just takes longer on low speed. Is the motor making any noise?
    Mark
    Hydraulics 101; Pump Ed 101; Pump/Pool Spreadsheets; Pump Run Time Study; DIY Acid Dosing; DIY Cover Roller
    18'x36' 20k plaster, MaxFlo SP2303VSP, Aqualogic PS8 SWCG, 420 sq-ft Cartridge, Solar, 6 jet spa, 1 HP jet pump, 400k BTU NG Heater

  12. Back To Top    #12
    JTKen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Central Texas
    Posts
    25

    Re: Trouble shooting 2-speed motor

    Quote Originally Posted by mas985
    It almost sounds like the thermal limiter is switching the motor off. It just takes longer on low speed. Is the motor making any noise?
    Motor seems to be sounding normal. It does seem to get hot enough to burn you, but I have no experience to compare this with, to know if this is normal or not.
    7,287 Gallons, IG Gunnite Pool/Spa, Cartridge, Polaris 380

  13. Back To Top    #13
    mas985's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Pleasanton, CA
    Posts
    11,489

    Re: Trouble shooting 2-speed motor

    Seems a little too hot. It could be the motor but before replacing it, I would check the impeller housing just to make sure something isn't stuck in there causing an extra load on the impeller. Either way, you have to remove the motor from the housing. While apart, you might also check the capacitor to see if it is shorted or looks to be damaged in any way. If neither of those two things are the issue, then you will probably have to replace the motor.
    Mark
    Hydraulics 101; Pump Ed 101; Pump/Pool Spreadsheets; Pump Run Time Study; DIY Acid Dosing; DIY Cover Roller
    18'x36' 20k plaster, MaxFlo SP2303VSP, Aqualogic PS8 SWCG, 420 sq-ft Cartridge, Solar, 6 jet spa, 1 HP jet pump, 400k BTU NG Heater

  14. Back To Top    #14
    JTKen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Central Texas
    Posts
    25

    Re: Trouble shooting 2-speed motor

    Thanks everyone, sorry for the late replies, I was on a temporary duty assignment, but now I'm back home full time. Motor has been running fine now on low only. I'm trying to pull out the motor now. I've got a bunch of bolts out, but nothing wants to move, so I'm gonna look for some directions.
    7,287 Gallons, IG Gunnite Pool/Spa, Cartridge, Polaris 380

  15. Back To Top    #15
    JTKen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Central Texas
    Posts
    25

    Re: Trouble shooting 2-speed motor

    Thanks again everyone for the help. I did eventually get the motor swapped out, keeping the SPECKS pump intact. It wasn't fun, but that was mostly because I didn't know what I was doing. I ended up taking the old motor with the propeller still attached and the Local Pool shop helped removed it. Unfortunately we lost the propeller in the process.

    With the pump, propeller, and propeller gasket, I ended up sinking 5 bills

    The good news is it works and the pool is flowing high-speed again. The bad news they didn't have 2 gaskets I should have replaced. The pump is leaking a bit, so I'll need to swing back to the PS again to get those gaskets. All-in-all I'm happy, I learned something and maybe saved a little money doing it myself.
    7,287 Gallons, IG Gunnite Pool/Spa, Cartridge, Polaris 380

  16. Back To Top    #16
    JTKen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Central Texas
    Posts
    25

    Re: Trouble shooting 2-speed motor

    Quote Originally Posted by JTKen
    The bad news they didn't have 2 gaskets I should have replaced. The pump is leaking a bit, so I'll need to swing back to the PS again to get those gaskets.
    Just a quick update. Although I replaced the two SPECK pump gaskets, it didn't fix the leaking pump. Turns out I had the propellers O-Ring on backwards! The bad news is I ruined the O-ring in the process of taking it off. The good news is I didn't damage the propeller, and was able to re-use the old O-ring, and now the leak is gone.

    I was also able (with the help of searching this forum) to re-wire my 2-speed pump. I put a manual high/low toggle switch on the back of the motor, and rewired the previous high/low timer to a on/off timer. I was having a hard time figuring out how to wire it right, but then I came across a picture in this thread and now it works! It's cool because now I don't have to run it 24/7 or manually run the motor. I can toggle the motor to high when the kids are swimming or I need to vacume/run the robot.

    need-assistance-with-new-pump-t29604.html?hilit=Intermatic%20Mechanical%20Timer

    Thanks again I really appreciate what you folks do here
    7,287 Gallons, IG Gunnite Pool/Spa, Cartridge, Polaris 380

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •