Pool leaks and I want to close, now what?

Sep 14, 2007
Hi, I'm a newbie here and I have a problem. I have an inground 22,500 gal rectangle, vinyl liner, with a sport bottom. I just realized a small leak and now it's time to close the pool. I do not know where the leak is. The leak rate is about 1/2 inch per day. I always close by partially draining, covering, etc., but with this leak, I'm afraid that my water will drain out before the hard winter months and my pipes will not be below the freeze line. I've winterized fine for the last 13 years, but I've not had a leak before. Is anti-freeze the answer here, or do I have more of a problem than that? Thanks in advance for your sage advice.

If the leak is fairly high up you can let the pool drain to below the leak and be fine. If the leak is at the bottom of the pool you need to find it and fix it or the pool will be empty come spring and you will probably lose the liner and could have worse problems if you have a high water table.

You can estimate the depth of the leak by measuring the leak rate, lowering the water several inches and measuring the leak rate again. If they are nearly the same the leak is deep if they are significantly different the leak is higher up.

JasonLion said:
If the leak is at the bottom of the pool you need to find it and fix it...

Thank you for the quick response. I believe the leak is deep, and I think I know the quadrant of the pool in which it is. What tips does anyone have to help me locate it so I can fix it before I must close? Again, my thanks in advance.