Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Gold Line Aqua Rite says Inspect cell

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Gold Line Aqua Rite says Inspect cell

    I had the salt system installed in 2009 and when I turned everything on the other day my panel says "inspect cell" normally i can just disconnect it, run some water through it and it resets.

    What do I need to do? Should I clean it some how if so how? I will assume as long as it says inspect cell I am not generating salt??

    Could it be the water temp is too cold? It is 53 degrees

    Thanks in advance!

  2. Back To Top    #2
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Gold Line Aqua Rite says Inspect cell

    Cold water can cause that error. It is probably a good idea to inspect the cell anyway. You should be able to open up the unions and look in the end of the cell and see the cell plates. They should be either silvery metallic or black, and completely free of debris, without any white crusty deposits. If you see a white crust you will need to clean the cell.

    Correct, that error means the SWG is not working. SWGs never work very well at cold temperatures anyway. Most likely it will be better when the water warms up a little.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  3. Back To Top    #3

    In the Industry

    JoshU's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    New Orleans, LA
    Posts
    541

    Re: Gold Line Aqua Rite says Inspect cell

    The check cell light shows up about every 500 hours as a reminder to check the cell. As far as I know and have seen the system has no way of knowing if anything is wrong with the cell to activate the light and it is purely based on the time factor.

    For some reason they don't mention this in the manual and it causes huge confusion for Aquarite owners. Pressing and holding the diagnostic button for 3 seconds should reset it.
    Josh Ulfers - josh@saltpoolguys.com - 888-725-8766
    SaltPoolGuys.com - AutoPilot Pool Pilot Systems, Parts & Cells - AquaCal Heat Pumps

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Re: Gold Line Aqua Rite says Inspect cell

    Thanks Jason,

    The cells are white, how do you clean them? There is a white power chord hooked up to the cell so how do you disconnect that OR does the inside pieces come OUT of the unit?

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Macon Ga
    Posts
    77

    Re: Gold Line Aqua Rite says Inspect cell

    The cells on these units are white, at least on mine they are.
    18X38 Grecian 26000 gallon In Ground Vinyl. Goldline AuqaRite SWG with a 1.5 HP Pentair Pump. Triton 2 Sand Filter Two main drains with 4 main returns with 2 more returns on the swimout and two skimmers. Polaris 380

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Central NJ
    Posts
    3,192

    Re: Gold Line Aqua Rite says Inspect cell

    Important things to look for with cells:

    Equal length blades. There should be little sign of erosion, especially on the leading edge. If you see dark edges near the center and the cell's controller is indicating a problem, the cell is likely spent.

    Smooth surfaces. Roughness is either erosion or calcium. Soaking in a 4 parts distilled water/1 part MA solution should clean up any stuck on calcium deposits.

    Scott
    Owner of - PoolGuyNJ LLC
    Expert Pool and Spa Repairs, Renovations, and Augmentation. Helping people decide what is the right gear for meeting their needs. Expectations Set, Expectations Met, No Surprises.

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Re: Gold Line Aqua Rite says Inspect cell

    How long to you soak them?

  8. Back To Top    #8
    Aquatica's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Nassau, Bahamas
    Posts
    514

    Re: Gold Line Aqua Rite says Inspect cell

    Quote Originally Posted by larbec
    How long to you soak them?

    mix like Scott said. you should see some bubbling. that means the scale is being removed. Also very important is to not submerse the chord compartment section of the cell. keep that above the water and acid mix.

    what I did was use a chemical garden sprayer. cut the top off, fill it with water up to the top part of the raised ring which has the hayward and cell info printed on. That would be around 3/4 of the water. then fill up to the start of the chord compartment with acid. I lift the cell out of the mixture and back in a couple times to mix the solution. the water and acid should come up to where the scale is on the sensor if you look inside the cell but no higher otherwise you will damage the chord. and the chord can not be replaced.

    Leave it in for like 1-2 minutes if really bad scale. wash with hose and then back in if needed. repeat until all the scale is off.

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Re: Gold Line Aqua Rite says Inspect cell

    Thanks so much, I will do this tomorrow

  10. Back To Top    #10

    In the Industry

    JoshU's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    New Orleans, LA
    Posts
    541

    Re: Gold Line Aqua Rite says Inspect cell

    Aquarite/Goldline/Hayward cells have plastic over the blades so you can't see the blades to tell if they are equal in length. Some local retailers are given cell testing stations which work really well to see if there is any life left on Aquarite/Goldline/Hayward cells since you can't seem them.
    Josh Ulfers - josh@saltpoolguys.com - 888-725-8766
    SaltPoolGuys.com - AutoPilot Pool Pilot Systems, Parts & Cells - AquaCal Heat Pumps

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Re: Gold Line Aqua Rite says Inspect cell

    I am trying to make a cap for the end of my unit. Does anyone know what size cap I need. I measured across it and its like 2 7/8"

  12. Back To Top    #12

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Coastalish 'down easter'
    Posts
    4,160

    Re: Gold Line Aqua Rite says Inspect cell

    Hayward will sell you an acid wash stand/ rig that mates to the threaded end. Being cheap and not having time to get on delivered, I figured out that a #11 expandable rubber plug works great I plug the non cord end and fill the cell with the 4:1 mix, put it in an empty 5 gal. bucket (to prevent spill problems)and let it soak for 2-5 minutes. Rinse with a good pressure hose and repeat, if needed.
    Luv& Luk
    -Ted

    Having done construction and service for 4 pool companies in 4 states starting in 1988, what I know about pools could fill a couple of books - what I don't know could fill a couple of libraries :-D

    POOL SCHOOL, TF Testkits, Jason's Pool Calculator, CYA vs. cl chart, (Just a few DARNED handy links!)

  13. Back To Top    #13

    Re: Gold Line Aqua Rite says Inspect cell

    Thanks, I put a plastic baggie on one end with duct tape and it worked great. I finally called Gold Line and the tech told me i would take a few days b4 the light will go out. He said I was generating salt but it needed to get a higher reading to go off

  14. Back To Top    #14

    In the Industry

    JoshU's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    New Orleans, LA
    Posts
    541

    Re: Gold Line Aqua Rite says Inspect cell

    Quote Originally Posted by larbec
    Thanks, I put a plastic baggie on one end with duct tape and it worked great. I finally called Gold Line and the tech told me i would take a few days b4 the light will go out. He said I was generating salt but it needed to get a higher reading to go off
    Were you getting a "check cell" or "check salt" error?
    Josh Ulfers - josh@saltpoolguys.com - 888-725-8766
    SaltPoolGuys.com - AutoPilot Pool Pilot Systems, Parts & Cells - AquaCal Heat Pumps

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •