Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Electric question

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Electric question

    I am in Missouri and having a inground installed.I was told by the PB that I would have to supply elec to the site of the pool.I was wondering since it will be underground in conduit do I have to buy the underground wire,or can I just buy the regular romex or single strand and put it in conduit.I am going 100 ft and figured I would go with a #8 wire in case I would like to add some stuff in the future

  2. Back To Top    #2
    XsAllOverIt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Mount Airy, Maryland
    Posts
    560

    Re: Electric question

    I'm not an electrician, but I'm 98% sure that you can't use regular romex. You need to buy the individual strands or the underground cable. Make sure for the distance, your guage is big enough. Every underground feed that I've ever had run, they used individual strands. That seems to be more standard than using the underground cable. You have to run 4 wires also.
    18 x 36 Inground Gunnite, White Plaster 21K gallon
    18" raised spa, 8' Diameter (620 gallon)
    Triton II Sand filter, Intellichlor IC40 SWG
    Pentair Pump, Max-E-Therm 400 BTU
    Lamotte ColorQ PRO 7-Plus test kit
    TFT-100 test kit

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central Massachusetts
    Posts
    2,690

    Re: Electric question

    Use THHN/THWN wire. Run 4 wires, black, red, white, and green. Romex isnt rated for a wet location plus the ground wire has to be insulated. The ground in romex is bare. Wire size will depend on how much current you want out by the pool and the distance you need to run it.
    14,000 gallon IG, Vinyl. Hayward 3/4 hp superpump, Penatair IC40 SWCG, Pentair automation, Hayward sand filter, Aqua Comfort heat pump, Hayward 400k Lo-Nox LP heater.

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,347

    Re: Electric question

    With the typical equipment requirements I think you'll need more than 40 amps. 60 or 100 would be more like it. With 60 amp service you'll need a #4 ga wire. If you under size it you'll always regret it, if you over size it you never will.

    Single conductors in conduit is the proper way to go.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  5. Back To Top    #5
    Guest

    Re: Electric question

    Ditto what BK and Bama said, I would recommend stranded wire, not solid. With that many wires, I would use 1 1/4 condiut to make the pull easy!

  6. Back To Top    #6
    Ohm_Boy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    1,344

    Re: Electric question

    Ditto on stranded. As for the pipe, I can't see that being a particularly tough pull, but 1 inch will limit your ability to pull anything else. Some wire-pulling compound will make slick work of pulling the wires.

    You can run four #4 wires in a 1 inch conduit and still maintain a 40% fill, but that's full capacity. If you want to stuff in a couple of #10's as well, you'd need to go 1-1/2. At least w/ PVC conduit.
    [center:1kpalu48]Helpful Links: Pool School | CYA/Chlorine Chart | Pool Calculator[/center:1kpalu48]

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    eastern washington state
    Posts
    275

    Re: Electric question

    I am from wash state, I am a farmer. That being said, I went to my local irrigation store and bought wire that was already in conduit. They use it for Irrigation equipment and such. its comes on a real big spool.. It really made it allot easier for me.. trench it and drop it in.. it does cost a bit more but well worth it...
    live in eastern washington state
    18x36, Vinyl inground 24k
    Hayward 1 hp filter pump
    1 skimmer/2 returns
    24" sand filter, polaris 280 with booster pump.

  8. Back To Top    #8
    Guest

    Re: Electric question

    Watch your sweep quantity as well. No more than 4 sweeps in a run or you won't be able to pull it (plus, IIRC, code does not allow for more than a 360 "loop" in any electrical run).

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Re: Electric question

    Good info,thanks.My PB said to run 10-3 on a 30 amp and I figured I would go to 8-3 on a 30 amp to be safe.I will buy the 4 singles like ya said.Does 8-3 only have 3 wires in it.I do not mess with electric very green on the subject.I will only have the pump,led light in pool and maybe a radio running.Do you think this will work.Its a 100 ft run.Thanks

  10. Back To Top    #10
    XsAllOverIt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Mount Airy, Maryland
    Posts
    560

    Re: Electric question

    Respectfully, all the advice you got on this thread it seems you're going to listen to your PB who isn't really giving you good advice. As Ohm_Boy indicated, run 4 #4 wires in a 1" conduit to be safe. You'll never regret the extra cost. You'll want to add some lights or some features in the future and you'll never have to run any more from your house. If you go with what your PB indicates, you'll regret it! I ran a 60 amp service out for a hot tub 4 years ago and thought that would be sufficient for my new pool house which was in the same vicinity and I had to get rid of that and run the same run over again by digging all of it out and running a 100 amp service to my pool house. Just a lot of extra work and added irritation.
    18 x 36 Inground Gunnite, White Plaster 21K gallon
    18" raised spa, 8' Diameter (620 gallon)
    Triton II Sand filter, Intellichlor IC40 SWG
    Pentair Pump, Max-E-Therm 400 BTU
    Lamotte ColorQ PRO 7-Plus test kit
    TFT-100 test kit

  11. Back To Top    #11
    Mod Squad JohnT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    SW Indiana
    Posts
    9,089

    Re: Electric question

    Quote Originally Posted by Big L
    Good info,thanks.My PB said to run 10-3 on a 30 amp and I figured I would go to 8-3 on a 30 amp to be safe.I will buy the 4 singles like ya said.Does 8-3 only have 3 wires in it.I do not mess with electric very green on the subject.I will only have the pump,led light in pool and maybe a radio running.Do you think this will work.Its a 100 ft run.Thanks
    I'd suggest you hire a professional. There are far too many issues in code compliance and safety that you aren't considering. GFCIs, continuous grounds from the panel for the lighting circuit etc.. Read NEC 680.26. If you don't understand what it says, reconsider doing it yourself.
    TFP Moderator
    20K Gallon 20X36 Vinyl Inground
    Hayward S244T Sand Filter with 1HP Whisperflo Pump. Liquidator C-201 and Solar Heat

  12. Back To Top    #12

    Re: Electric question

    Sorry for the miscommunication,my last post was my original plan,pricing materials that have been suggested is what Im doin now.I am just getting the wire to the panel inside and stubbing it out where the pump will be,not making any connections myself.Thanks again

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •