Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: really frustrating multiport valve issue

1. Back To Top    #1

really frustrating multiport valve issue

So I'm renting a house with a pool, and I've had some experience cleaning my own pool in the past.

This pool needs a good cleaning and I bought all the new supplies, ready to clean the filter grids and put in new DE and get everything balanced. The pump works fine.

The only issue I'm having is figuring out the multiport valve for the filter - it's an old filter assembly with the multiport valve below the filter such that you can only see the handle and none of the actual settings. On the filter assembly is written in permanent marker "filter" and "backwash" but none of the other settings - this allows me to use those settings, but I have no way of seeing the rest of the valve to figure out the other settings, and guessing would obviously be very stupid.

I don't feel myself experienced enough to remove the entire filter assembly from the plumbing to actually get under there and learn more about the valve. I'm renting this place and I don't want to invest in the landlord's pool too much.

So, what I'm wondering is... is it going to be possible for me to maintain a functional pool with only the backwash and filter functions? Obviously it will mean compromises.

There's dead algae at the bottom of the pool right now and I want it to go out to waste - so here's my strategy:

1)shock the pool a bit more, maybe add algae kill of floc
    2)vacuum to backwash when algae settles
    3)disassemble and clean grids
    4)put back together and add new DE

I know it's more work this way, but I'm just wondering if it's something I can do without damaging the equipment and also get the pool back to good shape.

Thanks!

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: really frustrating multiport valve issue